We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room, service, value! 10/10 must stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Lady

Save Saved
You added The Old Lady to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Old Lady
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Singel 38, Amsterdam 1015 AB, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing room, service, value! 10/10 must stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here late June and what a place! Exquisite decor, Gijs (owner) is a warm, welcoming host. We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of fizz which was great after a long journey. Five minute walk to central station so great location. Rooms are exceptionally clean and tasteful. Double shower and sink in huge bathroom was ace. Comfy bed with built in TV. Yummy breakfast with the best pancakes and strawberries I've tasted! Overall wicked stay, definitely visiting again if back in Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Took the ground floor appartment and why stay anywhere else. Handy location to the old city, railway station and numerous good restaurants. Plenty of room with a large very comfortable bedroom, new bathroom and adjoining sitting room all included in the appartment. Breakfast room a couple of steps away and open to guests 24hrs. Breakfast more than adequate. Host couldnt have been more helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night break in Amsterdam and we had the pleasure of staying at The Old Lady, a canalside house very near to the Central Station which we found most convenient. We had a large bedroom to the rear of the property,very quiet and overlooking the garden. Spotlessly clean,with a large double bed and a delightful bathroom which had a large double shower and twin wash basins. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of cold meats and cheese and should you wish, eggs various and poffertjes. We were well looked after by Gjis the owner and others and would have no hesitation in staying here again should we find ourselves back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booking.com has the correct ranking for this B&B. unfortunately small number of reviews puts this down the list so hopefully as more review this friendly, wonderfully situated, outstanding B&B it will go up the list. The owner is very helpful, breakfast is great with wide choice and room with courtyard outlook and lovely bathroom is fresh and extremely clean - and bed is so comfortable. Quality fittings. Highly recommended. Tank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked the double room at this small B&B and it was a delight, large light room, immaculate, really friendly and helpful host and in a perfect location. The breakfast was great too, I would happily recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lady

Address: Singel 38, Amsterdam 1015 AB, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lady 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your The Old Lady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Lady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.