We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room, service, value! 10/10 must stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Lady

Save Saved
You added The Old Lady to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Lady
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Singel 38, 1015 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing room, service, value! 10/10 must stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here late June and what a place! Exquisite decor, Gijs (owner) is a warm, welcoming host. We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of fizz which was great after a long journey. Five minute walk to central station so great location. Rooms are exceptionally clean and tasteful. Double shower and sink in huge bathroom was ace. Comfy bed with built in TV. Yummy breakfast with the best pancakes and strawberries I've tasted! Overall wicked stay, definitely visiting again if back in Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Took the ground floor appartment and why stay anywhere else. Handy location to the old city, railway station and numerous good restaurants. Plenty of room with a large very comfortable bedroom, new bathroom and adjoining sitting room all included in the appartment. Breakfast room a couple of steps away and open to guests 24hrs. Breakfast more than adequate. Host couldnt have been more helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night break in Amsterdam and we had the pleasure of staying at The Old Lady, a canalside house very near to the Central Station which we found most convenient. We had a large bedroom to the rear of the property,very quiet and overlooking the garden. Spotlessly clean,with a large double bed and a delightful bathroom which had a large double shower and twin wash basins. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of cold meats and cheese and should you wish, eggs various and poffertjes. We were well looked after by Gjis the owner and others and would have no hesitation in staying here again should we find ourselves back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booking.com has the correct ranking for this B&B. unfortunately small number of reviews puts this down the list so hopefully as more review this friendly, wonderfully situated, outstanding B&B it will go up the list. The owner is very helpful, breakfast is great with wide choice and room with courtyard outlook and lovely bathroom is fresh and extremely clean - and bed is so comfortable. Quality fittings. Highly recommended. Tank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked the double room at this small B&B and it was a delight, large light room, immaculate, really friendly and helpful host and in a perfect location. The breakfast was great too, I would happily recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lady

Address: Singel 38, 1015 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lady 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Lady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Lady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.