We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Pipe Museum

Amsterdam Pipe Museum
Prinsengracht 488, 1017 KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-4211779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 569 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Italy
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprising visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Pipe Museum in Amsterdam revealed to be a jewel-like visit. The museum and the shop are located in a typical canal-house, very well furnished, giving you the opportunity of having also a taste of the life on the canals of a couple of centuries ago. The collection itself is astonishing: there are thousands of pipes, marvellous, crafted with amazing skills; I never thought that a simple object like a pipe could have been made in so different shapes, materials, ages, continents, even for different social occasions.
The keepers are sweet, placid, very competent persons who love sharing their knowledge.
If you are a pipe smoker, this visit is a must, it is maybe the last museum of its kind in Europe and the shop if stuffed with wonderful pipes. If you appreciate well crafted objects and artisan skills, still the museum is highly suggested.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    7
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Though having signs/labels by the pipes in the viewable collection would have been ideal, the people at the museum were extremely nice, friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the topic of tobacco pipes. I recommend purchasing some of the books by D.H. Duco who curates the museum as he is an authority (If not THE authority) on Dutch tobacco pipes. The museum is small but it is full of different tobacco pipes spanning centuries. The museum is not limited to Dutch materials but also includes examples of Pre-Columbian native North/South American pipes as well as French pipes. Don't be afraid to ask lots of questions. Photos are not allowed...but they have their collection online.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A visit tailored to your own interest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Highly recommended:
The museum is found on the second floor of the pipe shop, where a man guides you showing you the history of pipes. He was really nice and answered all my questions, even those about individual pipes and filing in with the story behind them. I could have gone on without asking any questions and just listened in to what my guide had to say, but i would have missed on small interesting bits of information. Perhaps if there had been more visitors, i wouldn't have been able to ask so many questions...
There are pipes from different cultures in south America, Asia, Europe and north America. You can't take pictures of specific parts of the museum since they cover that on their website, but you can take a few general pictures for memories' sake.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict G, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam Pipe Museum, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Google Translation
Wat jammer dat de automatische Nederlandse vertaling zo raar met het woord (tabaks)pijp omgaat. Dit wordt vertaald als 'leidingen' of het nog onbegrijpelijker 'rolcontainer', zodat niemand meer begrijpt dat het museum een fantastische collectie tabakspijpen laat zien. Dus voor alle duidelijkheid: het Amsterdam Pipe Museum toont in een leuk grachtenhuis tabakspijpen uit de hele wereld !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant museum & guide, engaging shop & proprietor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

If as pipe smoker you find yourself in Amsterdam and have already seen the Rijks Museum, it may be time to make your way to the Pipe Museum. The building is located along one of the many canals in the city, the Prinsengracht, and requires a little bit of attention to house numbers or shop windows as the small entrance is positioned slightly below street level. However, it is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Leidseplein, a central public transport hub, and you get to walk along many beautiful and very old houses.

At the museum & shop: Once I had paid the entrance fee of EUR8 and taken the steep but short stairs to the first floor I was stunned by both the traditional interior of the house and the large variety of pipes exhibited in such a small space. The individually guided tour of the one floor-museum was brilliantly informed and informative. Only part of the collection is exhibited there, and what you get to see spans time and space, with exhibits from 500 BC to early 20th century pipes with most from around the 16th to 18th centuries, and from across the continents. After the tour I spent some time in the shop talking with the proprietor and learned even more about traditional Dutch clay pipes. Overall, these are friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable people who welcome questions and extensive viewing of the pipes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I came to this museum by chance, walked past and thought this might be interesting. It proved to be one of my nicest museum experiences, possibly because it was so unexpected. The friendly guide gave me a condensed version of the history of pipes and tobacco smoking. Pipes from South America, Africa and of course the Western World were displayed in abundance. Thick and slender stems. metal and wood, e very kind of ornament. I would like to ciome back and have a closer look some time. Thanks for an enriching cultural experience from a shrinking world of tobacco smoking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Pipe Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam Pipe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Pipe Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.