We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of Titanic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam EXPO

Amsterdam EXPO
Gustav Mahlerlaan 24 | Next to trainstation Amsterdam Zuid, 1082 MC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 900 8411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 534 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amsterdam EXPO is home to the world's best and most popular traveling exhibitions. This metropolitan museum aims to entertain, engage, educate and astound the Dutch public ★ NOW ON DISPLAY: Giants of the Ice Age, the largest exhibition on the ice age ever created. Only 3 months in The Netherlands, until March 1 2015 ★ PREVIOUS EXHIBITIONS: 'The Art of the Brick', 'Titanic: The Artifact Exhibition', 'Pixar: 25 Years of Animation', 'Toetanchamon, zijn graf en zijn schatten', 'Body Worlds & The Story of the Heart'.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Touch of Titanic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

You should see this exhibition! The feeling of getting into the Titanic, seeing all the real objects, it's like going back in that time. At the entrance we receiverd our boarding passes, just like the real passangers did. The audio guides are making the visit even more attractive with different sound effects. In addition, the location is easy to find from station Amsterdam Zuid (2 minutes walking). It's worth a visit!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    52
    14
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
195 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Titanic Exhibition could be a bit more creative, but still interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Although living in the Netherlands, it was my first time visiting this Amsterdam EXPO. I like very much the premisses, whit a good space for exhibitions, a comfortable auditorium and a cozy cafeteria. the shop is the same as many exhibition places and museums, I mean, right at the entrance you can find this great deal of merchandising at your hand.

But coming to the Titanic exhibition. I like it, although I think that the display of items could be done in a more creative/interactive way. But in some parts of the place, a reproduction of the environment of the ship was done beautifully, like for instance a corridor made like one corridor of first class, just after the first room exhibition. And after the corridor, a reproduction of one veranda, also well done.

The items tell histories themselves. Also the money asked for the different classes of passengers and the reproduction of a room from first class and a room from third class, tells a lot of the difference of classes on British society at that time.

Tickets are reasonable, and a bit cheaper if bought by internet., although you have then to choose a specific time for your visit.

All in all a good learning opportunity.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Titanic Artifact Exhibition Amsterdam: Disappointing and Overpriced!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Not often did I visit an exhibition that was so disappointing. With an entry price of €18,- p.p. I expected to see much more of the crucial artifacts and excavations from the Titanic. Unlike other exhibitions in the world the Amsterdam Expo showed just a limited number of items. A scale model was missing and no large parts of the hull. One display was entirely devoted to coins and paper money from the beginning of the last century found at the Titanic escalation site. Compared to other Titanic Artifact Exhibitions in the world, in Amsterdam there where much less mock-ups. Last but not least the video's that were presented where already broadcasted on the National Geographic Channel. Thus nothing truly new, a high entry cost, plus additional charge for lockers, Amsterdam Expo is overpriced.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“ok but not mind blowing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was ok but quite expensive for what you actually get to see.
I had expected more interactive stuff.

The locker actually costs 2 euros. You would assume you get it refunded afterwards, but this is actually not the case. so avoid using it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijdrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trip Down Memory Lane!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A visit to the Pixar Exhibition has been on my to do list for months now. It is only showing for the next 2 weeks, and if you're a big Pixar fan like me, it is absolutely worth a visit. I think it is cheaper if you buy tickets online, and give yourself more than 2 hours so you can have a good look at all the interactive exhibits they have on display.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam EXPO also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam EXPO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam EXPO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.