We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome addition to the Amstelveense weg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SOTTO - pizza legale

SOTTO - pizza legale
Amstelveenseweg 89, 1075 VW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+(31)20 223 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #497 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to the Amstelveense weg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went her for a quick bite before attending a birthdayparty. We were lucky that we could be seated, since we didn't make a reservation. The staff gave us the option to have a quick dinner. In hindsight I would have liked to stay here longer and taste some of the starters, but we only had time for a pizza. A great pizza, btw. One of the better pizza places in Amsterdam.

It was nice that the pizza's were prepared in an open kitchen area, so we could see the pizza makers work their magic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Londres
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent pizza but way too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Pizza is quite good (although the toping is limited). But we had to literally shout to speak to each other, and it was just 2 of us. It is just too noisy as the room is very small,full of people, and they are making the pizza... in the same room! which is cool to watch, but noisy too. I recomment it for a take away :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just like a great pizza should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I an very picky with pizzas preferring the ones we make ourselves at home. The pizza at Sotto was outstanding. Thin crispy crust, right balance between cheese & tomatoes, and plenty of tasty toppings. I had a quattre staggione. Delicious. The Tiramisu for desert was a killer. And the espresso as one should expect in an Italian restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good pizza, mediocre service and atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The pizza's at this place are simply very good. I would not agree with some other readers that they are the best in Amsterdam (there are two or three other even better 'true Italian' pizza places) but they are very good.

The service at this place was not that great the time we visited; waitress seemed knowledgeable but there was like 10 minutes apart between moments at which pizza's were served to various people from our party of only four; also ordering some beers and a simple foccacia took significant time.

The place feels a bit 'industrial' or minimally decorated; good for a pizza with friends not so much for either a business meeting or a romantic dinner.

Value for money is good though; if you need a good quick pizza for an affordable price you found the right place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice thin pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We got two pizzas 'to go' and eat them in the Vondelpark. We got a Margherita and a Verdure, both were very good. On the menu they use the term D.O.P. a lot. It stands for 'Denominazione d' Origine Protetta' (protected designation of origin). I don't really know it this *really* adds something, to be honest, but the pizzas were good. The choice is limited; they only have pizzas, some deserts and side dishes, but what they do, they do well. It used to be hard to get pizzas like this in Amsterdam/The Netherlands, so I'm glad Sotto is added to the choices. The place looks very cool, with the oven and industrial feel! Ps.: you can only pay with pin(debitcard)/creditcard, no cash!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOTTO - pizza legale also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to SOTTO - pizza legale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SOTTO - pizza legale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.