We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pain Quotidien - Beethoven

Le Pain Quotidien - Beethoven
Beethovenstraat 56, 1077 JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31206644144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #660 of 2,615 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Organic, Café, Sandwiches, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Our bread is made today exactly as it was in the beginning: with only organic stone-ground flour, salt, and water, kneaded and shaped by hand and baked in a hearth under the watchful eye of artisan bakers.We insist on the freshest and finest ingredients. If we can't find them, we make them ourselves.Our shelves are lined with the products we've created: the jams and chocolate spreads on the communal table, the granola in your parfait, the coffee that fills your bowl.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The staff are really friendly and good choice of pastries/coffee. It was a very short walk from the CitizenM hotel and the area is really nice and clean.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is actually a Belgian chain, but you wouldn't know it from the decor. I had the salmon open face sandwich one day and the goat cheese and kale omelet on another and both dishes were wonderful. The first time I went there, a nice man offered me his table, as he was leaving, then a woman offered be a blanket since the table was near the door. The espresso comes in a sort of bowl and is a very generous serving. The staff was consistently friendly and efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Salad a bit tired.Bad value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The outdoor seating and rustic appearance pulled me in.
Good coffee and pastries but poor quality salad at a place that is promoting itself as purveyor of organic and seasonal ingredients. Even has its own cookbook on sale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast or a cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

A perfect breakfast: scrambled eggs and slices of avocado on top of a toast, served with some tomato dip. I also tried croissant and jams. And they have very good sweets: cakes and pies. Check out their website, the food look exactly the same as on the pictures. The place is very well designed also, I liked it a lot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT LOOKS AND TASTES GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Yum yum what can I say our room was in hotel opposite the smells first thing in morning were gorgeous

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien - Beethoven also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien - Beethoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pain Quotidien - Beethoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.