We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice coffee place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pain Quotidien - Spuistraat

Le Pain Quotidien - Spuistraat
Spuistraat 266, 1012 VW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31206222555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #493 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Healthy, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Our bread is made today exactly as it was in the beginning: with only organic stone-ground flour, salt, and water, kneaded and shaped by hand and baked in a hearth under the watchful eye of artisan bakers.We insist on the freshest and finest ingredients. If we can't find them, we make them ourselves.Our shelves are lined with the products we've created: the jams and chocolate spreads on the communal table, the granola in your parfait, the coffee that fills your bowl.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice coffee place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

we had quiches that where very good , the atmosphere and staff are friendly ,good coffee also.

i 'll go back when in a hurry for a snack

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    51
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We ate here both mornings of our stay and it was fantastic. Lovely surroundings and atmosphere, really friendly staff. Everything from a single boiled egg to a full plate! Freshly cooked and squeezed in the case of the juice, don't miss it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Give us this day ... And every other day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I only ended up in Le Pain Quotidien because there was a queue for breakfast in my hotel. The highest compliment I can pay PQ is that I didn't realise it is a chain. Everything was fresh and tasted homemade. The fruit salad, the freshly squeezed juice, the omelette, the breads ... And the superb coffee. My only regret? That I didn't have a plane to catch and could have spent an hour or two there. What a great formula! I wish them continued success.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh food and drink in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Freshly squeezed orange juice. Granola with yogurt and fruit plus their unique blend of coffee. What a great start to the day away from standard hotel fayre.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a breakfast on Sunday morning in Le Pain (not many places open at that time).
Being regular in their places all over the world I could say that menu selection looks quite limited, but all standard thing are there.
As to the quality - I wasn't impressed with the capuchino and omelette is usually more "creamy".
The separate thing are the waiters - I was actually negatively surprised with one of them being extremely aggressive and arrogant, which to my mind is absolutely not in the style of these cafés.
Thing to consider is the size of the toilets - be carefull as it is very easy to be pushed by the opening door of the cabin.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien - Spuistraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien - Spuistraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pain Quotidien - Spuistraat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.