We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal, unreal steak cooked perfectly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlitos Gardel

Carlitos Gardel
Frans Halstraat 89, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #454 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, unreal steak cooked perfectly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

What a great find!!!!! We had a lovely meal it's just a shame it's not in the town city, but it is worth the walk or cab to it.

Food and staff are amazing, I couldn't find a fault at all.

We had two starters to share and then both had rump steak 200g which came with salad, chips and peppercorn sauce. The steak was cooked perfectly and no fat at all.

We go for a lot of steak meals in London and this was one of the best we have been too and a lot cheaper than most restaurants.

I would recommend the Malbec wine as well which was very nice.

Restaurant has been open 3 months and I can only see it getting better and better.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heaven for meat lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We walked and saw this restaurant later checked reviews and come back for lunch.
Atmosphere was really nice, busy for lunch time but still not too crowd.
Whole restaurant is decorated very nice and you are feeling warn and welcome there!
food is really good, we had just main dish, and ribs to share and even that was too much for us since portions are huge!
I cannot tell that this was the best restaurant we visited but it was really good and not too expensive!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top quality discreet restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We like to sniff out our own venues without consulting advice on internet. We choose a restaurant or pub by its 'feel'. We had four nights in Amsterdam and generally good meals but only on our last afternoon did we find Frans Halsstraat and immediately noted Carlitos Gardel. Our dinner that night was superb. The proprietor was welcoming and although working on his own, provided excellent service. We were given warm garlic bread (gratis) and although I only ordered a house wine, the bottle was brought to the table to authenticate an Argentinian Medoc. My husband ordered the unlimited spare ribs - but could not manage more than the one helping. They were excellent. I like my steak rare to medium and it arrived perfectly cooked - well done chef. The salads and chips were gargantuan helpings, the chips crisp as they should be, the salad far more than simple lettuce and tomato. My husband asked for ice-cream and was given a delicious concoction of substantial proportions - enough for me to enjoy a couple of teaspoons as well. My coffee was of course excellent, as most coffee is in Amsterdam. The overall price was absolutely fair - E37 for the food, without drinks - a far better value than we would have in UK for the same quality food.
We highly recommend Carlitos Gardel and thank the hosts for a lovely evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend this place more!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Found this place on tripadvisor, as we fancied steak and didn't want to head into any of the questionable looking places in the old town.

Was quite quiet, but they said it's new, so i understand that. We shared the mixed grill, at 46 euros it wasn't massively cheap but would easily feed 3. We had lamb, ribs, two cuts of steak, and sausage and it came with corn, chips and salad. It seemed much better value than the rest of the menu and really was fantastic!

The waiter was friendly, and 3.5 euros for a glass of reasonable Malbec is decent. Had a few drinks each and it was only just over 60 euros for the meal. It really was incredible and we were stuffed.

I'd definitely recommend it, it's in a nice quiet area too but with a few decent bars nearby for a few drinks afterwards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Non Tourist Steakhouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Chose this because it was the top steakhouse on tripadvisor, and because it wasn't one of the numerous chain steak houses. 10 minutes off the tourist track and couldn't have been happier. True top quality steak, fantastic sides and amazing service, would recommend to anyone and would go out of my way to go back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlitos Gardel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Carlitos Gardel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlitos Gardel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.