We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven for meat lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlitos Gardel

Carlitos Gardel
Frans Halstraat 89, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #296 of 2,251 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Heaven for meat lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We walked and saw this restaurant later checked reviews and come back for lunch.
Atmosphere was really nice, busy for lunch time but still not too crowd.
Whole restaurant is decorated very nice and you are feeling warn and welcome there!
food is really good, we had just main dish, and ribs to share and even that was too much for us since portions are huge!
I cannot tell that this was the best restaurant we visited but it was really good and not too expensive!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    19
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top quality discreet restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We like to sniff out our own venues without consulting advice on internet. We choose a restaurant or pub by its 'feel'. We had four nights in Amsterdam and generally good meals but only on our last afternoon did we find Frans Halsstraat and immediately noted Carlitos Gardel. Our dinner that night was superb. The proprietor was welcoming and although working on his own, provided excellent service. We were given warm garlic bread (gratis) and although I only ordered a house wine, the bottle was brought to the table to authenticate an Argentinian Medoc. My husband ordered the unlimited spare ribs - but could not manage more than the one helping. They were excellent. I like my steak rare to medium and it arrived perfectly cooked - well done chef. The salads and chips were gargantuan helpings, the chips crisp as they should be, the salad far more than simple lettuce and tomato. My husband asked for ice-cream and was given a delicious concoction of substantial proportions - enough for me to enjoy a couple of teaspoons as well. My coffee was of course excellent, as most coffee is in Amsterdam. The overall price was absolutely fair - E37 for the food, without drinks - a far better value than we would have in UK for the same quality food.
We highly recommend Carlitos Gardel and thank the hosts for a lovely evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend this place more!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Found this place on tripadvisor, as we fancied steak and didn't want to head into any of the questionable looking places in the old town.

Was quite quiet, but they said it's new, so i understand that. We shared the mixed grill, at 46 euros it wasn't massively cheap but would easily feed 3. We had lamb, ribs, two cuts of steak, and sausage and it came with corn, chips and salad. It seemed much better value than the rest of the menu and really was fantastic!

The waiter was friendly, and 3.5 euros for a glass of reasonable Malbec is decent. Had a few drinks each and it was only just over 60 euros for the meal. It really was incredible and we were stuffed.

I'd definitely recommend it, it's in a nice quiet area too but with a few decent bars nearby for a few drinks afterwards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Non Tourist Steakhouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Chose this because it was the top steakhouse on tripadvisor, and because it wasn't one of the numerous chain steak houses. 10 minutes off the tourist track and couldn't have been happier. True top quality steak, fantastic sides and amazing service, would recommend to anyone and would go out of my way to go back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Lovely restaurant just off museum square. Being the middle of January we were the only table in the restaurant (which normally is a bit daunting) but we were made to feel really welcome and the service was great from start to finish.

We ordered the empanadas to start which were delicious- being the daughter of an Argentine and having lived in Argentina for a few years I was really curious to try them here. I have never come across the choclo empanadas but was pleasantly surprised. We both ordered rib eye steaks which were to die for and cooked to perfection. I ordered mine with rice and my boyfriend with chips, which were also accompanied by a lovely little side salad. We had a bottle of the Chilean Sauvignon Blanc which was also just right. No room for any desserts but our meal was really great and at a reasonable price.

Would definitely recommend you try this little restaurant! The only thing that would have made it even better was if the music had been more authentic, perhaps Tango!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlitos Gardel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Carlitos Gardel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlitos Gardel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.