We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't recommend this place more!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlitos Gardel

Carlitos Gardel
Frans Halstraat 89, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #454 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend this place more!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Found this place on tripadvisor, as we fancied steak and didn't want to head into any of the questionable looking places in the old town.

Was quite quiet, but they said it's new, so i understand that. We shared the mixed grill, at 46 euros it wasn't massively cheap but would easily feed 3. We had lamb, ribs, two cuts of steak, and sausage and it came with corn, chips and salad. It seemed much better value than the rest of the menu and really was fantastic!

The waiter was friendly, and 3.5 euros for a glass of reasonable Malbec is decent. Had a few drinks each and it was only just over 60 euros for the meal. It really was incredible and we were stuffed.

I'd definitely recommend it, it's in a nice quiet area too but with a few decent bars nearby for a few drinks afterwards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Non Tourist Steakhouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Chose this because it was the top steakhouse on tripadvisor, and because it wasn't one of the numerous chain steak houses. 10 minutes off the tourist track and couldn't have been happier. True top quality steak, fantastic sides and amazing service, would recommend to anyone and would go out of my way to go back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Lovely restaurant just off museum square. Being the middle of January we were the only table in the restaurant (which normally is a bit daunting) but we were made to feel really welcome and the service was great from start to finish.

We ordered the empanadas to start which were delicious- being the daughter of an Argentine and having lived in Argentina for a few years I was really curious to try them here. I have never come across the choclo empanadas but was pleasantly surprised. We both ordered rib eye steaks which were to die for and cooked to perfection. I ordered mine with rice and my boyfriend with chips, which were also accompanied by a lovely little side salad. We had a bottle of the Chilean Sauvignon Blanc which was also just right. No room for any desserts but our meal was really great and at a reasonable price.

Would definitely recommend you try this little restaurant! The only thing that would have made it even better was if the music had been more authentic, perhaps Tango!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I recently visited from England and was after a good steakhouse in Amsterdam for my girlfriends birthday. I happened to come across Carlitos Gardel and I was not disappointed. We went in a group of 4 and everybody had a different main each persons steak melted in your mouth and was cooked to perfection. The food was so tasty and the service was very good, everyone was so friendly and made us feel so welcome.

If you like steak give this place a try you will not be disappointed! Worth the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding beef beautifully cooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

A super evening, the service was just right and we were left to ourselves, but when we wanted service it was prompt efficient and friendly. The steak was melt in the mouth! This is a hidden gem of a place, I hope you find it as we did

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlitos Gardel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Carlitos Gardel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlitos Gardel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.