We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Helmers to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, 1054BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent choice : Odette, our kind host, has given us great advices to visit Amsterdam as locals. Good location : close to the museums district, the canals, the Jordaan ect. Very clean and pretty room. Delecious breakfast served with a monderful smile ! We wish to go back there !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
46
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

So cute, so lovely :)

Our stay here was great. Well cared for and very comfortable. A nice place to stay, this well located in a quiet area and especially for his treatment and the kindness shown.

Perfect!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a lovely stay at B&B Helmers, despite not lovely weather when we were there.
However, first thing to note, as a few others have mentioned: the rooms are on upper floors, there is no elevator, and there are EXTREMELY narrow, steep stairs to go up to get to the rooms. Thankfully, Odette's husband was there to help us with our excessive amount of baggage, which was completely my fault. If he hadn't been, not sure my husband could have done it all on his own!!! But, as one other reviewer stated, if you have a lot of baggage, or have trouble with stairs, this may not be the best location for you.
That being said, Odette and Fons could not have been more friendly or helpful. The breakfasts were enough for 2 meals; the first day we ate half, and took the other half with us and had it for lunch! Due to the dreary weather, we ate in our room, but I understand if the weather is nice that there is a rooftop terrace where you can also eat.
There is also a kitchenette on the guest floor, which was handy to have available, as well.
The bath is a shared bath - I believe there were 3 guest rooms occupied when we were there (6 people). This was more than we've ever shared with at a B&B, but it worked out OK for us. But, you will hear others using the bathroom on the floor. And, you may have to time it right, too. Fortunately, the toilet is in a separate room, so that is usually available. The products (body wash, etc.) in the bathroom were absolutely lovely, and the fixtures were completely modern.
There were 2 different tram lines that stopped within walking distance of the B&B, so that was very convenient. We also found 2 different restaurants for dinner while we were there.
Hospitality, excellent, Breakfast, outstanding, Cleanliness, very good, Convenient location, good, Stairs - daunting!
But, I would recommend it highly if you travel lightly, and don't mind a shared bath situation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic b&b - ideal location in a safe and friendly neighbourhood with great eateries around every corner and within walking distance of all key tourist spots and the peaceful Vondel Park. Odette and her husband made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to help us celebrate a big family birthday in style! They were very warm and hospitable. I would really recommend this place, particularly for groups of friends/family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a lovely place in every way: the top floor and roof terrace of a period town house in central Amsterdam, very close to tree-lined streets, canals, Vondel Park and many excellent cafes and restaurants - in fact it's close to everything, including the major museums. A really warm welcome too from Odette and her husband - they were exceptionally helpful and seemed to take great pleasure in making sure their guests enjoyed their stay. The place is beautifully furnished and immaculately clean and the breakfasts truly a joy! The perfect stay for a family or group of friends. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breda
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Spent a weekend with friends in Amsterdam and stayed at Bed & Breakfast Helmers. This was an experience that I felt I really needed to share. It was MARVELLOUS. The rooms are beautifully decorated with a lovely eye for detail. First class amenities including lovely bathrobes, slippers and towels. We enjoyed beautiful sunny, warm weather and after exploring Amsterdam all day on foot, we returned to Helmers to freshen up before going out for a meal in the evening. Odette suggested that we relax on the rooftop terrace - an offer that we happily accepted. We went up and found a beautiful large terrace overlooking the city of Amsterdam decorated with lovely furniture and flower boxes filled with colourful flowers. We put our feet up and enjoyed a complimentary bottle of dry white wine! Perfect! Refreshed and relaxed we were ready to venture out for the evening and arrived back tired and ready for a good night's sleep. The beds are extremely comfortable and we woke up in the morning feeling revived. Odette and Fons suggested we take our breakfast on the rooftop and again we happily accepted the offer. Breakfast was superb. Hot rolls, croissants and biscuits. Delicious cold cuts, cheeses and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Lovely jam and preserve all accompanied by freshly squeezed orange juice, a blackberry smoothie and delicious coffee and tea! One of the best experiences I have ever had at a B&B or first class hotel for that matter. Besides the top notch service and quality, this B&B is centrally located across the road from the famous Vondelpark, 5 minutes from all the great Museums and the Leidseplein and the Jordaan with its quaint buildings, restaurants, cafes and speciality shops. We left feeling very pleased and will be making plans to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just wanted to share my thoughts from my trip to Amsterdam. The best things at Helmers are the breakfasts and Odette herself. She is a lovely woman who makes a damn good breakfast. We didn't even need to eat lunch after them! She talked to us each morning about what we'd seen and made some good suggestions that we took her up on (i.e. the canal tours were actually really nice and informative --- and kept us out of the rain and wind)

Good location near the museums, a short walk/tram ride into the city center.

Beware the stairs. If you have really heavy bags are aren't good with steep stairs (for 3 flights), then this might not be the place for you. I didn't mind and neither did my friend.

Also, I would just caution travelers, this isn't a hotel with a front desk. Confirm with Odette when you expect to arrive. Our plans changed and when we got there, no one answered the buzzer. Thankfully my travel companion had opted for an international plan and we were able to call her (she was outside the city but promised to return within the hour), but otherwise we would have been stuck outside wondering if/when someone would return to let us in.

I enjoyed taking a bath in the giant tub and using some wonderful products Odette had left for our use. But I had to wait until super late not to conflict with anyone else staying who may need the bathroom. I also could hear some guest use the bathroom next to our room one early morning. Unfortunately the sound carried right into our room. But it was only a problem once. We also had poor weather and didn't get to make use of what seemed like an amazing roof.

Definitely go to the Jordaan, and easy walk from the B&B. Fewer tourists, super cute, great place to take pictures of the canals, smaller shops featuring more artistic fare than what you'll find downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Helmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, 1054BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect locationBed and Breakfast Helmers is a family friendly B&B in one of the most popular areas of Amsterdam “Oud West.” The B&B is in walking distance of the most interesting sights in Amsterdam, such as the Museum District, the Canals, Leidse Square & the Vondelpark. As your hosts we look forward to providing you with a unique experience where comfort & luxury is complemented with personal attention & service. Our philosophy is to provide our guests with the same high level of comfort & service we expect during our own travels. You will see this reflected in the decoration of the rooms, the quality of the breakfast & the personal service we provide. Our recently renovated bed & breakfast offers charming rooms, a luxury bathroom with separate shower and bath, separate WC and use of a fully equipped kitchen. As your hosts we look forward to giving you our ‘insider tips’ on sights, activities and restaurants so you can experience the city as a local. Check out our services on how we can help you make the most of your stay. The rooms have a modern decor with a classical twist.Rates:Double Occupancy: from 95 euro per night Single Occupancy: from 75 euro per night*All rates are including breakfast and excluding 5.5% tourist tax.If you are travelling as a family and require more than one room, please contact us for our special family rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Helmers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Helmers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.