We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect finish for a long trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Helmers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, 1054BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Klang, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Perfect finish for a long trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our Group of three couples stayed at B &B Helmers for 2 nights at the end of a 25 days tour of South America, transiting at Amsterdam. It was a perfect place to rest up and take things easy. We had a most memorable evening enjoying a bottle of wine on the rooftop terrace, enjoying the cool air and watching the lights from planes taking off from Schipol in the distance.
The rooms were comfortable and were nicely decorated in a modern style. While it is located centrally and had a pub downstairs, it was quiet at nights. Its location is a super plus point, being close to the Liedseplein action, and still near the Museums and peaceful Vondelpark.
Breakfast was a delightful affair for us and the energy giving goodness was much enjoyed as we started each exciting day. A highly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: The back room has even less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
44
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great location, huge and delicious breakfasts, warm reception, comfy beds-- clean, well-appointed and overall terrific. Odette is a wonderful hostess, full of useful information, and consistently friendly and good natured. The stairs are fine, although perhaps not for small children or older guests. We had two rooms and felt privileged to stay in what my daughter describes as-- "as nice as a fancy hotel."

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was working Amsterdam for six months, commuting each week from the UK. Helmers B and B felt like home from home. I tried many apartments and hotels and this was by far the nicest place to stay. Consistently good, clean comfortable and perfectly located for easy access to the centre, the financial district in the south and Schiphol. My wife cam to stay on a number of occasions and loved it too. - Joss W. from the UK

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just outside the tourist district next to the wonderful Vondelpark, and Museum square, the perfect location to find traditional Dutch shops and restaurants. Just outside 2 tram stops to help getting around in a couple of minutes.

Comfy apartmant with roof terrace, we got robes and slippers, very nice shower gel, a small fridge in the room with a suprise wine, and ofcourse tv and wifi.

Breakfast was almost as outstanding as Odette, who was so helpful on giving tips and making our stay even more plesent than it already was.

If you ever visit Amsterdam be sure to visit Odette's Bed&Breakfast Helmers! Perfect for solo travel, for couples and with friends!

Wish you all the best from Hungary!

Room Tip: Rembrandt room has a nice view on the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadenet, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

we've just spent 3 nights at Helmers B&B: we appreciated odette's welcome
it's well located in the center just 5 minutes walking from main attractions
and the breakfast is simply excellent
kind regards

Xavier De

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A very nice and atmospheric place to stay:
its located next Vondelparc, so its almost in the center. In front of the door two of the main TRAm are crossing. Within 5 min you are at the museum area, with Van Gogh Museuam or the Reiksmuseum. In 10 min you are in the center.
The are rooms ar cosy the bed is comfortable, the bathroom ( shared) was always clean and really good bodycare was provided.
Breakfast is taken to your room at the time you want it, you can be shure you won´t be hungry after that. (Odette aks even for your special diet).
A speciality is certainly the rooftop, with places to sit and "relax", with a nice view over the city.
All in all i can recommend this place very much!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautifully appointed rooms, exceptionally clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were great (Odette even gave up her XMAS morning to serve us breakfast), and Odette was so helpful with giving us tips on sights to see and places to eat, both before the trip and while we were there. The location is ideal for accessing all parts of Amsterdam (most within walking distance, biking or public transportation). One note of warning. If you have breathing issues, this may not be the place for you. There is no elevator, and many steps up to the rooms. Otherwise, it's a great way to stay in shape! I would love to come back in summer to enjoy the rooftop. I highly recommend Helmers to all.

Room Tip: Didn't see all of the rooms, but all are named for famous Dutch painters. We were in the Vermee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Helmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, 1054BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect locationBed and Breakfast Helmers is a family friendly B&B in one of the most popular areas of Amsterdam “Oud West.” The B&B is in walking distance of the most interesting sights in Amsterdam, such as the Museum District, the Canals, Leidse Square & the Vondelpark. As your hosts we look forward to providing you with a unique experience where comfort & luxury is complemented with personal attention & service. Our philosophy is to provide our guests with the same high level of comfort & service we expect during our own travels. You will see this reflected in the decoration of the rooms, the quality of the breakfast & the personal service we provide. Our recently renovated bed & breakfast offers charming rooms, a luxury bathroom with separate shower and bath, separate WC and use of a fully equipped kitchen. As your hosts we look forward to giving you our ‘insider tips’ on sights, activities and restaurants so you can experience the city as a local. Check out our services on how we can help you make the most of your stay. The rooms have a modern decor with a classical twist.Rates:Double Occupancy: from 95 euro per night Single Occupancy: from 75 euro per night*All rates are including breakfast and excluding 5.5% tourist tax.If you are travelling as a family and require more than one room, please contact us for our special family rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Helmers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Helmers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.