We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Helmers to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, 1054BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This B&B was truly a gem! Odette was very helpful and kind. My room was pristine clean, very cozy and there's a coffee/tea facility. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Bathroom and kitchen were clean too. She made my breakfast according to my dietary needs.

Transportation going there was easy, since a tram stop was just around the corner.
Restaurants/grocery store also nearby.

I will definitely stay here if I come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
44
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
torquay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I highly recommend this beautiful gem of a B & B. We stayed here for 2 nights last week. Great location with spotlessly clean, quiet accommodation. The room was tastefully decorated & the bed was so comfy! Odette is a truly wonderful & gracious host. Breakfast was delicious & beautifully presented. The little touches of luxury make it all the more special. A great place to stay. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending B & B Helmers. Thank you so much for a great stay....just wish it could have been for longer!
Jo & Terry, Devon, UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. While the initial climb to your room is a bit daunting (70 steps....yes 70 ...I counted), once you are there it is worth it. And the climb is pretty typical for Amsterdam. The rooms are very nice, not large but more than adequate. You share a bath and toilet but we experienced no inconvenience with this. Everything is extraordinarily clean. The rooftop terrace is a great place to have a drink before dinner, watch the sun go down over Amsterdam or as we did, enjoy a take-out rijsttafel meal from the Indonesian restaurant right beside the entrance door.
Location is great for museums and bicycling in Vondel Park, and convenient to the tram. A bit far from he centre.
Odette is a fantastic host....knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and just an all around nice person. And the Breakfasts are FANTASTIC! Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street can be noisy if windows open. Windows closed=no noise. Good AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Following on from a hectic wedding in the UK, we decided to go with a small bunch of friends over to Amsterdam. Time was too short for a honeymoon and we had friends flying in from all around the world (including ourselves) we couldn't just expect them all to see us for just the wedding party so invited those who wanted to join along! Typical us, we pick a weekend in Amsterdam that is hosting a large conference and accommodation was scarce, or over inflated. We tried airbnb but to no avail. Then I happen to google B&Bs in Amsterdam and find Odette and Helmers B&B. We were going to be 5 so needed 3 rooms. Odette was always quick to respond and always gave very thorough information. All 5 of us work in the hospitality sector and can be very picky and fussy with service but I have to say, Odette shone through every step of the way. The accommodation was quite easy to find, only 1-2 stops on the tram from the centre (although we walked in most days). Rooms were well equipped, spotlessly clean and beds super comfortable. Rooms also had a mini fridge, TV, Tea/Coffee and aircon for the summer months. Breakfasts were freshly prepared by Odette herself and were different every day, she was also extremely chatty at the same time. She also had great knowledge of the area and provided a lot of useful information and maps etc. We had 3 of the 4 rooms and all were fantastic. A little too cold to enjoy the mornings on the roof terrace but I can imagine how lovely it would be on a nice sunny morning.

Odette I know you will be reading this so once again, many thanks for being an outstanding host for our party. We appreciated your attention to detail and the little touches that separate you from the competition. Let's get you up into the top 10! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will look forward to visiting you again in the future.

Jamie & Woody.

Room Tip: We used all of the rooms and all were similar, just the windows different so you'll get a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odette O, Owner at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jamie & Woody,

Thanks you so much for the lovely review! It was a true pleasure for us also to have you both and your friends stay with us. Besides the great fun and interesting stories I also got to learn something from you!

Hopefully next time you are in Amsterdam we can welcome you again.

Thanks again!

Odette & Fons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had a great stay at Helmer's. From the beginning Odette replied to all my emails promptly and really went above and beyond my expectations as a host. The B&B is very new and in a central location. To top it all off the breakfast was amazing too! I wouldn't hesitate recommending Helmer's and if I make it back to Amsterdam I would be more than happy to stay again. Thank you Helmers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family stayed for 3 days at Helmers and we enjoyed Odette's hospitality and freshly prepared breakfasts! The roof-deck, bathroom and bedrooms were nicely furnished and tidy.
In addition Odette helped us with good advice for restaurants and even for a free concert at Vondelpark!
Looking forward to come back to Helmers once we visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Knowing Amsterdam for over 40 years never saw it this way. The area is far out and Odette is an excellent guide to show you the best and affordable restaurants on less than 5 mins distance.

The rooms (we stayed in the rembrand room but had the chance to take a look at vermeer too) exceeded any expectations as well as the breakfast did. I did not know that a romance and cleanliness could go that good hand in hand. I can imagine that you'll have lovely nights on the superb roof terrace from which you can have a great view on Amsterdam like you never had the chance before.

Last but not least, Odette and her family have the word "hospitality" written deep in their hearts. They are very good in giving foreigners the right information on a friendly way, always up for a chat but with great respect for your privacy. After checking out they still are helpful with your luggage.

This was tasting Amsterdam like you will not have a chance in any five star hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Helmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, 1054BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect locationBed and Breakfast Helmers is a family friendly B&B in one of the most popular areas of Amsterdam “Oud West.” The B&B is in walking distance of the most interesting sights in Amsterdam, such as the Museum District, the Canals, Leidse Square & the Vondelpark. As your hosts we look forward to providing you with a unique experience where comfort & luxury is complemented with personal attention & service. Our philosophy is to provide our guests with the same high level of comfort & service we expect during our own travels. You will see this reflected in the decoration of the rooms, the quality of the breakfast & the personal service we provide. Our recently renovated bed & breakfast offers charming rooms, a luxury bathroom with separate shower and bath, separate WC and use of a fully equipped kitchen. As your hosts we look forward to giving you our ‘insider tips’ on sights, activities and restaurants so you can experience the city as a local. Check out our services on how we can help you make the most of your stay. The rooms have a modern decor with a classical twist.Rates:Double Occupancy: from 95 euro per night Single Occupancy: from 75 euro per night*All rates are including breakfast and excluding 5.5% tourist tax.If you are travelling as a family and require more than one room, please contact us for our special family rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Helmers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Helmers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;