We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats any 5* by far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Helmers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, Amsterdam 1054BT, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beats any 5* by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Following on from a hectic wedding in the UK, we decided to go with a small bunch of friends over to Amsterdam. Time was too short for a honeymoon and we had friends flying in from all around the world (including ourselves) we couldn't just expect them all to see us for just the wedding party so invited those who wanted to join along! Typical us, we pick a weekend in Amsterdam that is hosting a large conference and accommodation was scarce, or over inflated. We tried airbnb but to no avail. Then I happen to google B&Bs in Amsterdam and find Odette and Helmers B&B. We were going to be 5 so needed 3 rooms. Odette was always quick to respond and always gave very thorough information. All 5 of us work in the hospitality sector and can be very picky and fussy with service but I have to say, Odette shone through every step of the way. The accommodation was quite easy to find, only 1-2 stops on the tram from the centre (although we walked in most days). Rooms were well equipped, spotlessly clean and beds super comfortable. Rooms also had a mini fridge, TV, Tea/Coffee and aircon for the summer months. Breakfasts were freshly prepared by Odette herself and were different every day, she was also extremely chatty at the same time. She also had great knowledge of the area and provided a lot of useful information and maps etc. We had 3 of the 4 rooms and all were fantastic. A little too cold to enjoy the mornings on the roof terrace but I can imagine how lovely it would be on a nice sunny morning.

Odette I know you will be reading this so once again, many thanks for being an outstanding host for our party. We appreciated your attention to detail and the little touches that separate you from the competition. Let's get you up into the top 10! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will look forward to visiting you again in the future.

Jamie & Woody.

Room Tip: We used all of the rooms and all were similar, just the windows different so you'll get a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odette O, Owner at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jamie & Woody,

Thanks you so much for the lovely review! It was a true pleasure for us also to have you both and your friends stay with us. Besides the great fun and interesting stories I also got to learn something from you!

Hopefully next time you are in Amsterdam we can welcome you again.

Thanks again!

Odette & Fons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
41
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had a great stay at Helmer's. From the beginning Odette replied to all my emails promptly and really went above and beyond my expectations as a host. The B&B is very new and in a central location. To top it all off the breakfast was amazing too! I wouldn't hesitate recommending Helmer's and if I make it back to Amsterdam I would be more than happy to stay again. Thank you Helmers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family stayed for 3 days at Helmers and we enjoyed Odette's hospitality and freshly prepared breakfasts! The roof-deck, bathroom and bedrooms were nicely furnished and tidy.
In addition Odette helped us with good advice for restaurants and even for a free concert at Vondelpark!
Looking forward to come back to Helmers once we visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Knowing Amsterdam for over 40 years never saw it this way. The area is far out and Odette is an excellent guide to show you the best and affordable restaurants on less than 5 mins distance.

The rooms (we stayed in the rembrand room but had the chance to take a look at vermeer too) exceeded any expectations as well as the breakfast did. I did not know that a romance and cleanliness could go that good hand in hand. I can imagine that you'll have lovely nights on the superb roof terrace from which you can have a great view on Amsterdam like you never had the chance before.

Last but not least, Odette and her family have the word "hospitality" written deep in their hearts. They are very good in giving foreigners the right information on a friendly way, always up for a chat but with great respect for your privacy. After checking out they still are helpful with your luggage.

This was tasting Amsterdam like you will not have a chance in any five star hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I just had my most awesome 7 days holiday in Amsterdam.so One of the main factor is B&B Helmers that makes our trip so much better.
From making our reservation, all emails are promptly responded. The place is easy to find with very detailed direction from Odette in her email. The location of the B&B is great. Everything is within walking distance. There are bikes and scooters rental just around the corner.
Everyone is complaining about the staircase but I find this is a real experience and make me feel like I'm staying in a real Dutch home.
The room and bed is just awesome. You wish you can just stay in the room. The bathroom although it's a shared bathroom. It is unexpectedly clean everyday. I'm someone who is very picky about the toilet but I have no problem for my 6 nights stay here.
The traditional Dutch breakfast is unspeakable. it was so beautiful that I just couldnt stop posting my breakfast photo on my Facebook status every morning. Its yummy too! The best thing is you can choose to have it at the beautiful rooftop terrace on a sunny day overlooking the lovely view. But just be aware you might have some harmless bees that would love to share your breakfast with you. Otherwise, breakfast on bed or in the lovely kitchen is nice too.
Most of all, for all the great things, it comes at a very affordable price!
Thanks Odette and husband for your kind and fabulous hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let's start with the location. Close to the beautiful Jordaan and about 10 minutes walk from the central square, Anne Frank's and Van Gogh's. Great restaurants around, supermarket next door and if you arrive by train, Tram #1 will take you from the doorsteps of the station to a block away from the B&B. Bottom line it's impecable located.
As for the stay, the room is beautiful, the bathrooms cleaner than most hotels. The breakfast is great and plenty. All this reflects the care and attention dedicated by the family who owns the place and lives downstairs. They are caring and helpful, and they really put an effort into making your stay better.
The garden on the rooftop is a plus. Best panoramic pics I took from Amsterdam.
Only downside: thrid floor and the steep steps are only way to get up - so pack light :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend stay at Helmers. A group of 5 woman wanting a touch of luxury at an affordable price and we made the best choice possible. Odette was brilliant from the time of the first enquiry until we left, nothing too much trouble and her advise on eating out and things to do was invaluable. The rooms are lovely, comfortable beds, flat screen tv, air con, tea making facilities, bath robes all add to the boutique experience. Breakfast was lovely and because we had great weather we ate on the roof terrace and chilled out up there too with the complimentary wine we got on our arrival. A very special place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed & Breakfast Helmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, Amsterdam 1054BT, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect locationBed and Breakfast Helmers is a family friendly B&B in one of the most popular areas of Amsterdam “Oud West.” The B&B is in walking distance of the most interesting sights in Amsterdam, such as the Museum District, the Canals, Leidse Square & the Vondelpark. As your hosts we look forward to providing you with a unique experience where comfort & luxury is complemented with personal attention & service. Our philosophy is to provide our guests with the same high level of comfort & service we expect during our own travels. You will see this reflected in the decoration of the rooms, the quality of the breakfast & the personal service we provide. Our recently renovated bed & breakfast offers charming rooms, a luxury bathroom with separate shower and bath, separate WC and use of a fully equipped kitchen. As your hosts we look forward to giving you our ‘insider tips’ on sights, activities and restaurants so you can experience the city as a local. Check out our services on how we can help you make the most of your stay. The rooms have a modern decor with a classical twist.Rates:Double Occupancy: from 95 euro per night Single Occupancy: from 75 euro per night*All rates are including breakfast and excluding 5.5% tourist tax.If you are travelling as a family and require more than one room, please contact us for our special family rates. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Helmers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Helmers to your Saves list