We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path but in a great way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Marnix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B Marnix to your Saves list
B&B Marnix
Marnixkade 76-2, 1015 ZE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path but in a great way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The neighborhood where this B&B is located is not far from the Anne Frank house. We arrived late into Amsterdam and instead of trying to navigate the public transportation we took a cab. The cab got us right to the front door and we were greeted by Richard despite being so late. Since we didn't have long in the city we immediately ran into the center of town but made it no problem. It was probably a 15 minute walk in the dark. I'm positive we did not take the most direct route. Though this is not a place right in the center of the action that's what makes it so special. The area around the B&B was very residential and really quiet. We had a room overlooking the canal and it was large and clean. I was only sad we didn't have more time to explore around the B&B itself. Maybe next time!

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the canal, it's such a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at the Marnix B&B for 2 nights at the start of April with my partner. We have previously stayed at another B&B in Jordaan and find the area to be an ideal base. It has plenty going on without big crowds, but is still within walking distance of the centre of the city.

The Marnix overlooks a canal and the location is very peaceful. The room was spotless with modern facilities including a lovely bathroom with rain shower and double sinks. Beds were clean and comfy and there was a TV with free view, tea, coffee, complimentary soft drinks and lots of local information to hand. The only thing missing for me was a safe in the room which is just my personal preference.

Richard was extremely polite and helpful, waiting to greet us on our arrival and keeping us updated via text and providing candles when their was an unfortunate power cut!

I would recommend the Marnix B&B and would happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

In July 2013 we made two separate one-night reservations at this B&B for both ends of a week long boat and bike trip planned for in May 2014. They happily took our reservations and confirmed them with an email. Three months later they wrote to tell us that they did not enter one of the dates in their system and now they no longer have any rooms to offer us. That is strange since they received both dates at the same time and then on their own realized that they had double booked. We can understand that they might want longer bookings, but they did not have to take our one night stays in the first place. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zana and Richar... v, Owner at B&B Marnix, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
This email reservation crossed an online booking. We noticed that unfortunately later when we checked our calendar. We did not closed the day on time. Also we did not communicated correctly to the quest when we searched for a alternative B&B. We have learned from this for future reservations.via email. Our website hosting is currently busy for future direct booking via our website. This will prevent double bookings. Again we apologize for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Arrived late on Monday night after a flight and was very happy to walk into such a welcoming place. Richard is so friendly and could not do enough to help us with our stay. The room was spotless, modern and spacious, had a very powerful hairdryer (something I don't always come across!), good tea and coffee making facilities and we both had 2 fantastic nights sleep - very comfy beds. Richard held our bags for us since our flight was in the evening so we could go out and enjoy our final day.

There's free wi-fi too, which is good for planning your day and a taxi number on the door which also proved useful. The place itself is in Jordaan and the walk to Dam square via Anne Frank house is stunning and only takes about 10 minutes. Lots of great little cafes, bars and houses to look into along the way. Great value for money, you couldn't ask for a better place to stay for a couple of days in Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed with Zana and Richard at B&B Marnix in mid September before a Viking River Cruise to Budapest. We flew in from Africa then train to Central Station and taxi to 76 Marnixkade. Richard carried our luggage to the second floor room overlooking Singal Canal. The room was perfect. The outlook brilliant and Marnixkade easy to get to with tram virtually at the door giving access to all parts of the city. Plenty of cafes (bars) with great food nearby. I highly recommend B&B Marnix for any shortterm stay in Amsterdam

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ħal Balzan, Malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a great place and super clean. It is also located in a super place with nice views! The service was great and the hosting people were well mannered! Good money, well spent, thanks for such a nice stay!

Room Tip: Just, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My sister and I stayed in the canal view room for two nights and it was everything we needed. Richard was welcoming and helpful. We weren't leaving till late on the Monday night and he let us keep our things in the room so we could freshen up before flying. Our toilet was across from our room but this did not cause any problems. The room was bright, clean and within a 10 min walk to cafes and places to eat. Trams and buses stopped right around the corner. Definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: The canal view room has the toilet across from room but this is not an issue and view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to B&B Marnix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Marnix

Address: Marnixkade 76-2, 1015 ZE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BB Marnix has 2 bright and spacy rooms situated at the Jordaan and 17th century canal area (Marnixkade / Singelgracht canal) of Amsterdam with everything of interest within walking distance. The rooms are equipped with everything for a comfortable stay. 2 comfortable box spring beds (80x200), flatscreen tv, mini fridge, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities, towels, Rituals luxurious shower gel, shampoo and soap. FREE WIFI, We are easy to reach by public transport (bus 18 & 21 from the Amsterdam Central Station. Or walk by foot (20 min.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Marnix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Marnix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.