We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great location and relaxing atmoshphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vanguard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Vanguard to your Saves list
The Vanguard
Reguliersgracht 2, 1017 LR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great location and relaxing atmoshphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was staying in Vanguard for a night on July 4th then i was heading for paris the next day. Gijs was not there but he arranged everything before i arrived. His friend, Derk , is a very nice young guy and provide assistance all the time. i took the third floor room, with a relative big bedroom with a small sitting room attached, where you can enjoy the tea with the beautiful view of canal. The bathroom and toilet is separate, super clean and with everything you need.

The location of the guesthouse is definitely a plus. Within walking distance, u can go anywhere of the major attractions. It is relaxing and very good residential area.

The next morning, the breakfast is interesting although there were some small mistakes going on. The salmon is very nice and coffee bright the day up!

I will definitely come back next time to Amsterdam!
Good job!

Cindy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
61
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As others have mentioned, the location is excellent for this B&B - you can cycle or walk pretty much anywhere that you like. It is just under a 1/2 hour walk to the central station with bags (although I recommend the tram to Rembrandtsplein if you have luggage!). We stayed in the loft room which was beautiful and clean with a very comfortable large bed. The owner was away and his friend was in charge and he was very helpful and friendly, giving us a lot of advice on things to see and places to eat that were off the beaten track. The only reason that I didn't rate this 5 stars is that we weren't told until check-out that we needed to pay cash since the owner is the one who accepts credit cards only. But this wasn't a problem other than a slight inconvenience. This is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: The loft is beautiful and very private (top floor) with a lot of space. If you have problems with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent host, very helpful and flexible. The whole place is beautiful and the room was very stylish and comfortable. Conveniently located near many attractions but quiet and peaceful. If you have a car easy and cheap to do Park and Ride. The Vanguard certainly added to our enjoyment of Amsterdam and I wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was very good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a fabulous five days, staying at The Vanguard with a very attentive and stylish host, Gijs. The location was ideal, next to the picturesque "seven bridges" and lively Rembrandt Square. Gijs gave us some great tips for entertainment, bars and cycling tours and we would recommend his beautiful B&B, plus excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Together with my wife I spent 5 days at The Vanguard B&B, in the middle of the celebrations for the new King of Holland. Very familiar atmosphere, excellent breakfast; Gijs, the landlord, has been extremely available and helpful. Very nice rooms (I experienced 2 of them, the one at the lower level and the one at the top floor), well furnished and equipped; the only problem is the steep and narrow stairs, but Gijs helped promptly on this by taking in charge our luggages. Well positioned, close to Rembrandt Square, with magnificent view of the canals, not too noisy.

Room Tip: Apart from narrow stairs, the room at the top floor is the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

... and I should add, with a charming host !
The Vanguard is a wonderful place, even for a short stay. Rooms are very comfortable, well-furnished and decorated with a great taste. The hotel remains intimate and you feel like home instantaneously, thanks to Gijs. The host is indeed very nice and helpful and will arrange everything to make you feel at ease in the house and in the city.
The view on the sun rising on Amsterdam canals from the bedroom will be one of my best memories I'll keep of the town.
I definitely recommend this place to any traveler, it's a peace haven.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A clean small B&B, centrally located.
Gijs was very friendly and welcoming.
Good breakfast and free Wi-Fi.
Was a good pick for a short stay in Amsterdam
and our daughter loved it too. Felt like a home away from home really...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanguard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanguard

Address: Reguliersgracht 2, 1017 LR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanguard is hidden in the vibrant heart of the city which is part of the Unesco World Heritage. All rooms in this hous view on two canals, unique in Amsterdam.The whole interior is recently restyled by Robert Broekema with a fresh take on the design of the traditional canal house. The city's cultural highlights and hotspots are all in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Vanguard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vanguard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.