We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vanguard

Save Saved
You added The Vanguard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Vanguard
Reguliersgracht 2, 1017 LR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Together with my wife I spent 5 days at The Vanguard B&B, in the middle of the celebrations for the new King of Holland. Very familiar atmosphere, excellent breakfast; Gijs, the landlord, has been extremely available and helpful. Very nice rooms (I experienced 2 of them, the one at the lower level and the one at the top floor), well furnished and equipped; the only problem is the steep and narrow stairs, but Gijs helped promptly on this by taking in charge our luggages. Well positioned, close to Rembrandt Square, with magnificent view of the canals, not too noisy.

Room Tip: Apart from narrow stairs, the room at the top floor is the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
32
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dijon, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

... and I should add, with a charming host !
The Vanguard is a wonderful place, even for a short stay. Rooms are very comfortable, well-furnished and decorated with a great taste. The hotel remains intimate and you feel like home instantaneously, thanks to Gijs. The host is indeed very nice and helpful and will arrange everything to make you feel at ease in the house and in the city.
The view on the sun rising on Amsterdam canals from the bedroom will be one of my best memories I'll keep of the town.
I definitely recommend this place to any traveler, it's a peace haven.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A clean small B&B, centrally located.
Gijs was very friendly and welcoming.
Good breakfast and free Wi-Fi.
Was a good pick for a short stay in Amsterdam
and our daughter loved it too. Felt like a home away from home really...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I spent three days in the loft of The Vanguard and I must say: it was a treat. The room is spacious and has a very sophisticated feel and style. Gijs, the landlord, is a really laidback guy who makes the best breakfast. He cookes eggs in any style you like and he even has real English mustard (Colmans!) to go with it. The BnB is located right in the centre of town and during my stay it snowed and the canals were utterly beautiful. Sometimes the cars honked at night in the street in front, but that's the only price you pay for staying in the coolest place in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in this B&B for three days and it was truly an amazing Amsterdam experience. The location in the canals area is just perfect for exploring the city and the beautiful canal house has a unique cosy atmosphere to it. I also loved the loft we stayed in: spacious and it has a beautiful view. The friendly owner Gijs had great suggestions and made us a delicious breakfast. So, I therefore highly recommend The Vanguard! Regards, Roland

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have booked the vanguard for my friends 40th and got the loft on the too floor. When we cam in Derek was really cool and friendly helped us get the bags up. A cake and tea were there thanks to Gijs! A really good team! The house is absolutely gorgeous and well decorated. Cosy and clean!
Derek prepared us breakfast which was perfect! Definitely recommend it if yo visit Amsterdam. It s my fist time and the location was very central. As concierge of hotels myself i will keep on recommending the vanguard!
Thanks a lot to Derek and Gijs!!

Room Tip: The loft is perfect all the way up and staircase in the bedroom to little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a wonderful stay in this astonishing 'boutique' bed & breakfast. The location was great, fancy rooms and a good quality/ price ratio. Especially the authentic interior of the B&B made this a rememberable visit to Amsterdam. In addition, the very like-able guesthouse Gijs provided excellent service for both the breakfast as well as information about the City. This versatile character has in-dept knowledge of the city and recommended us hotspots we would never have found by our self. Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: We stay in the loft. Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vanguard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanguard

Address: Reguliersgracht 2, 1017 LR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanguard is hidden in the vibrant heart of the city which is part of the Unesco World Heritage. All rooms in this hous view on two canals, unique in Amsterdam.The whole interior is recently restyled by Robert Broekema with a fresh take on the design of the traditional canal house. The city's cultural highlights and hotspots are all in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Vanguard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vanguard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.