We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible food and fantastic for veggies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meatballs - CLOSED

Meatballs
Warmoesstraat 15, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31207371250
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, European, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
ogmore by sea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“incredible food and fantastic for veggies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Absolutely delicious. Huge variety. Waiter was fantastic and gave loads of info on Amsterdam places to go etc. Definitely worth a return visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tiny portion size - dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had the salad, Sized like a side salad for 10 Euros with one small meatball. Tasted fine, but should have cost 1/3 the price. Also had the 2 meatball sandwiches, slightly better value but not much

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy Yummy Meatballs!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was the cutest little place in Amsterdam. Had a great variety of choices, including vegetarian!! They had so many choices of balls, sauces, etc that it was hard to choose! Also had yummy pickled veggies that were delicious! Highly recommend this place during your stay in Amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“OK...if you are a meatball fanatic...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

And of course, why would you go to a restaurant named Meatballs if you expected anything else. An earlier reviewer indicated that the Dutch love their meatballs, so we thought we would give it a try.

We ordered two of their small plates that contained two types of balls with two sauces. The pork and beef balls were infused with spices, but we found the sauces lacking in any additional flavor profiles. They were sided with pickled vegetables that again may be an acquired Dutch taste. We had a side of bread with olive oil that seemed to be less than extra virgin.

Service was prompt and polite.

Just not our cup of beer.


Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“something different from the masses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great little concept restaurant surrounding meatballs. Although it is not a new concept it is a first in Amsterdam. Since we dutch love our meatballs this was a must to try out.
I was not dissapointed. The staff including what i thought was the owner/manager are friendly and attentive which is certainly refreshing in Amsterdam.

You can choose from about 8 different kinds of meatballs for which you then choose a respective topping for. You can also choose from several different kinds of vegetables and potatoes/pastas etc. Don't expect huge portions, once could even say the meatballs could be a little bit bigger but you won't leave hungry.

Great concept, nice ambiance, definitely recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meatballs also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meatballs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.