We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ground floor room is a very bad value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of House of Amstel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added House of Amstel to your Saves list
House of Amstel
Amstel 16, 1017 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The ground floor room is a very bad value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The location: super convenient
The design and cleanliness: just ok, nothing notable. There are some "extras" such as an iPad and a Nespresso machine which seem to be added in order to compensate for the problems.

The problems:
We stayed in the ground floor room (which is actually about two steps below ground) and has its own separate two-door entrance off the street. This room (to call it an apartment would be an overstatement) is a bit dark and claustrophobic. You cannot open any windows (but even if you could, you wouldn't want to because the window looks directly out on a narrow and busy part of the sidewalk).
Street noise from cars and pedestrians seems to be amplified. In our case, there was also internal noise, i.e. footsteps from the apartment above, and noise from the heating/water pipes?
During the day, the window works as a one-sided mirror, i.e. you can see passers-by but they can't see you. This needs some getting used to, especially when people outside stare in the mirror-window to check out their hair (yes this has happened a couple of times)! In the evening, they can see through so you have to shut the blinds. Also, we had people knock on our door a couple of times (once at 10pm) thinking that this was the door for the "hotel" (?). This can give you a slight sense of insecurity if you are not used to a living space with such direct access to the street.

Lighting in the evening was not enough/functional; none of the bedside lights worked. We called the manager but he didn't get back to us on that day (otherwise he was a nice guy).
Finally, there were mosquitoes in the room, probably coming from the little open window (out to a back side of the building?) which was high up in the bathroom. Unusual for so early in the year but perhaps due to the "basement" nature of the room?

All in all, not a good value for the money. We are generally easy going so none of the above would've been detrimental if the price was lower.

Perhaps the top floor apartments do not have the same problems but then this one should've been much lower priced.

Room Tip: This review is only for the ground floor room. Perhaps the top floor apartments do not have the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, great to have a stunning apartment to come back to after a day sightseeing to then use the lovely shower to get ready and hit the bars and clubs which are also really close. Felt like home. Gorgeous view of the canal just outside the window. iPad was a good touch and the free wi-fi always goes down well. So many things near by to see and do. Great coffee shops, restaurants. Didn't need to use public transport once even in the cold....was able to walk to ann frank house, red light district, dam square, amsterdam dungeons, sex museum etc. The room was very contemporary and clean. Felt very safe in the area. Only downside we the 'mini fridge' unable to fit a lot in it and it wasn't very cold, also no toaster and I wasn't told how to use the coffee maker, but these things to me we're not a major issue. I'm sure if I contacted 'kai' the owner he would of explained how to use it. Check out was simple enough, just had to leave the key in the room at 11am. FYI taxi from and to airport from the apartment costs around €40. I will most definitely be travelling to amsterdam again and first choice of accommodation will be amstel house...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaurWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend a few nights. The apartment is beautiful and clean och the location is just great! The only thing that bothered us a bit was the constant sound from the waterpipes. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinSchyllert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I chose these apartments as I knew that they were in an excellent location and looked lovely in the photographs. Sure enough we found our way to them without a problem. We were very early as check in was at 14:00 but Kai had advised us that we could call if we arrived early to see if it was possible to store our luggage. We called from the Rembrandtsplein which is just behind the apartments and were advised someone would meet us outside in 20 minutes. A lovely, friendly lady arrived at 11am promptly and securely locked away our luggage in the apartment block and advised us Kai would return at 14.00 to deal with our check in. This happened as promised without any issues, we were taken to our room and paid our 260 euros which I feel was extremely reasonable for the view and location. We did not have a televison as promised, but this was not a problem as we didn't want to spend our weekend watching television anyway. We did however have an Ipad and a wonderful view of the Amstel river which was a bonus. The bed was extra comfortable and as mentioned before, the bathroom and shower was of a really good size. I cannot see how previous reviewers have stated that it was dirty. We found the room to be exceptionally clean and any dirty would have been noticeable as the room is decorated in black and white. We did not experience any of the noise that has been previously mentioned either. Overall I think these apartments offer excellent value and we received really good service. If we were to return in summer or spring, i would love to book the upstairs room with the roof terrace but either way I would not hestitate in booking to stay at the House of Amstel again. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, which was easy to find. We were on the top floor with our own private terrace which was great. Lovely views of the city, however I would only book this room in the summer to enjoy sitting and using the BBQ which had been provided. The other rooms seemed to be just as good. The bed was very comfy and the shower was great. There is a closet to hang your clothes together with a iron, ironing board, hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel, and all kitchen appliances. They even supplied tea and coffee. There is a convenience store a few doors down where we got some milk. Excellent value for money and next time we come to Amsterdam, we will be booking to stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The pictures posted online are glamour shots not the reality. If all you care about is a private roof deck then this place may be right for you. However, if you'd like a room with a comfortable bed and pillows, a quiet place to sleep in a good temperature, or you'd like a room that is even remotely clean- I'd stay away from this place. At $250 a night I don't think it's too much to ask for the above and a TV and water kettle that functions. All I can say is yuck!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the House of Amstel for several days and couldn't have enjoyed it more. It is not your typical hotel, it is more like renting an apartment...you get the experience of staying in one of the traditional, classic Amsterdam-style houses along its famous canals. The rooms, though, are like those in a modern hotel, stylishly decorated with more amenities than I have seen at hotels 4 times more expensive. There was a small kitchen area, which made stocking our own breakfast convenient. Each room has it's own iPad and it's own Nespresso coffee make, pods included. Both are incredible touches that I had never seen before. Such details are common in the hotel. The hotel only recently opened and you can tell that no corners were cut...the finishings in the bathroom are high end, the bedding is great, the decor is inspired.

House of Amstel borders the Amstel Canal and is close enough to walk everywhere you might want to go. The views of the canal, both up and down, are exactly the views you want to see when visiting. You are directly in front of the beautiful Hotel De L'Europe and have views of two bridges.

We had great experiences with the staff and the owner, a young man from Amsterdam. He was very helpful with suggestions and it really seemed as if he wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

A great hotel...highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardClark01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#123 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#264 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
My House Your House
My House Your House
#207 of 327 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Brem's Apartments
Brem's Apartments
#60 of 207 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Bird
Hotel The Bird
#145 of 327 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sir Nico Guest House
Sir Nico Guest House
#38 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Amstel

Address: Amstel 16, 1017 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House of Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing