We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty from top to bottom, too noisy to sleep, too hot to stay in room...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of House of Amstel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added House of Amstel to your Saves list
House of Amstel
Amstel 16, 1017 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Miami
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dirty from top to bottom, too noisy to sleep, too hot to stay in room...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The pictures posted online are glamour shots not the reality. If all you care about is a private roof deck then this place may be right for you. However, if you'd like a room with a comfortable bed and pillows, a quiet place to sleep in a good temperature, or you'd like a room that is even remotely clean- I'd stay away from this place. At $250 a night I don't think it's too much to ask for the above and a TV and water kettle that functions. All I can say is yuck!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the House of Amstel for several days and couldn't have enjoyed it more. It is not your typical hotel, it is more like renting an apartment...you get the experience of staying in one of the traditional, classic Amsterdam-style houses along its famous canals. The rooms, though, are like those in a modern hotel, stylishly decorated with more amenities than I have seen at hotels 4 times more expensive. There was a small kitchen area, which made stocking our own breakfast convenient. Each room has it's own iPad and it's own Nespresso coffee make, pods included. Both are incredible touches that I had never seen before. Such details are common in the hotel. The hotel only recently opened and you can tell that no corners were cut...the finishings in the bathroom are high end, the bedding is great, the decor is inspired.

House of Amstel borders the Amstel Canal and is close enough to walk everywhere you might want to go. The views of the canal, both up and down, are exactly the views you want to see when visiting. You are directly in front of the beautiful Hotel De L'Europe and have views of two bridges.

We had great experiences with the staff and the owner, a young man from Amsterdam. He was very helpful with suggestions and it really seemed as if he wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

A great hotel...highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed on the third floor suite with a beautiful view of the canal and Amstel street. We had a difficult time finding the place, walking passed it a couple of times before seeing the paper on the door with the name. The suite was very spacious and clean. It had a nice kitchenette with a Nespresso, fridge, sink and dishes. The IPad is a great idea! Street was busy but not extremely so. Great location just around the corner fr the Rembrandt Square. It is a great value and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the upper floor. very nice room. designed and renovated. nice shower. have everything u need inside. greate window view. greate location close to the flowere market and to a tram station. its not a hotel its an apartment. steep starecase

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hamburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

we stayed in first floor for one night and left after one night cause its impossible to get sleep. it has cobblestone street outside the house, there is a corner with 5 streets and the cars are honking permanently, tourist busses, tourist walking, cars, lkw, even the neighbour was using his saw until midnight- he must have thought its loud anyway here, so i can use my circular saw all night . beds are good, design is ok and it has a nespresso machnine and an ipad ( i guess it would be better invested money in triple glass windows and thick curtains. owner seems to be bit arrogant about his design appartments. the location is very central, but its hard not to be central in amsterdam. i advice you to look for a less bizzy street if you like to sleep at night

Room Tip: have a look at smart travelling website - tey have best hotel tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#135 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#205 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Hotel Residence Le Coin
#86 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#192 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
My House Your House
My House Your House
#200 of 321 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Bird
Hotel The Bird
#126 of 321 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Amstel

Address: Amstel 16, 1017 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your House of Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.