We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, reasonable breakfasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee to Walk

Coffee to Walk
Plantage Middenlaan 44, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 11510053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 2,611 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: The smell of fresh baked rolls and croissants, just real coffee. The morning newspaper, a magazine or a good conversation. The ultimate enjoyment and warm relaxed atmosphere is pretty good start or drop of the day. Welcome to Coffee to Walk.
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely, reasonable breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I went here 3 times for breakfast. The scrambled eggs are lovely (the fried eggs less so), and the bacon crispy (though also salty, so fair warning if that's not how you like it), served with lovely fresh bread. They also do good espresso. It's opposite the zoo, so a great place to eat either before or after your visit. They have free Wifi.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Very Good Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

After two hours of walking in Artis Zoo, we needed a hot coffee. We had a coffee with fried chicken and fried eggs with toast. The service was pleasant. There was free wifi which helped us in planning the rest of the day over a cup of coffee. I strongly recommend this place :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were staying close by and decided to pop in for coffee and breakfast. It was freezing cold in Amsterdam, but Coffee to Walk was warm and cosy and the staff were very friendly. We had coffee and baguettes. The coffee was really good (and came with a piece of chocolate!) and the baguettes were fresh and tasty. All the baguettes/ sandwiches are made fresh to order and are reasonably priced. We liked it so much, we came back the next day too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in a hotel next to this brilliant cafe. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast/food was lovely and I can't wait for my next visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value, interesting cafe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

On a 3 night stay and unfortunately ventured here on our last morning only. Stayed at the neighbouring Lancaster Hotel which charges 15��� per person - whereas we had a great and tasty breakfast at 'Coffee to Walk' for a combined total of 15��� for two people.

Friendly and welcoming but if you are in a hurry, avoid busier times as the service was a little slow. When the coffee and food did arrive however, it was very well worth it.

Seeded brown roll with pastrami, fried eggs and cheese was very nice indeed. White roll with ham and eggs for my wife. Both were very nicely presented and were accompanied a a large 'medium' Americano and a cappuccino.

You can also attend their artists events on a Friday, hire a mini motorised scooter by the day, or purchase tickets for museums and canal tours. Or you could just enjoy a cake!

Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee to Walk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Coffee to Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee to Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.