We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Tommaso - MG

San Tommaso - MG
Martelaarsgracht 9 / BG, 1012TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 489 6464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,467 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Diner, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

At a recent visit to Amsterdam, we stopped in at San Tomasso restaurant. Food was good, value was also good for the money. We had the ribs! Very good. We also had their garlic bread, very tasty!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    21
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“No worth the money. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The price on the menu may be deceiving. The potato fries and the source coming with the steak incur extra charges. Felt cheated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AshAyad, Manager at San Tommaso - MG, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Ms/Mr, Thank you for taking time to write your review about our restaurant.
I'm not sure where did you eat before? did you eat at Argentinian Restaurant?
if yes, I think you didn't understand our menu. if you order your size steak its clear on the menu (Choice from the best Argentinos meat, our steaks are served natural:(you can have your own choice of side dishes, sauces and salads).). On the menu we have also From the grill (Served with salad and your choice of steak fries, baked potato with (sour cream – butter) or rice.). so you have choise to order including side dish end sald or with out.
unfortunately, we didn't read in your review about our food quality and service !
Thank you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Holte, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went there for pizza as we found it recommended here, but what a disapointed visit, the pizza is below standard, but you pay 11-15 euro, I am sure you will find better ones elswhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshAyad, Manager at San Tommaso - MG, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear, Thank you for taking time to write your review about our restaurant.
can you please let us know, what's wrong with your pizza at our restaurant? did you till any waiter / waitress how you find the pizza? if you don't agree about the quality after you taste it, you can leave it and you don't have to pay it ! that's our strategy....
Thank you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best Italian Food I've EVER had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My favorite cuisine is Italian and on a recent trip touring Europe this place is the gem that I found. I traveled around Italy as well including Rome and Florence, but I would have to say that the best Italian food that I have ever tried is this small restaurant in Amsterdam. The food is extremely tasty and fresh, i would recommend the spinach canneloni and the escargot. The service is great, friendly, and quick. It is the same average price of all the restaurants in the area, but definitely NOT the same average food. San Tomasso's is definitely the best Italian food that I have had ever. The atmosphere is also excellent as the ambiance inside is such of a restaurant set in an Italian paradise with gorgeous mural paintings and Italian architecture.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone that has even a few hours in Amsterdam as it is directly across from Centraal Station. The food was so good, that I had to go back there for a second meal during my trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Come after read here the reviews
Was Looking for nice italian food
We order two pizzas and garlic pan

Was really good!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed San Tommaso - MG also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to San Tommaso - MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Tommaso - MG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.