We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts, outstanding B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sjudoransj

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sjudoransj
Goudsbloemstraat 91 - 1, Amsterdam 1015 JK, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
LAST MINUTE
Ranked #5 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Paradise, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, outstanding B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautiful, clean beds and bathrooms. The breakfast kept us going all day! Dennis and Godfrey were happy to help with any of our requests or questions, they even brought in an extra bed for my daughter and arranged the furniture so we would all be comfortable. Walking distance from many attractions but also close to the tram/bus stop!

Room Tip: the back room (Vermeer) is quieter as it is not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
79
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Angleterre
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What happy memories of a lovely stay in the Vermeer at Sjudoransj! The Jordaan area is so interesting; with its lovely canals, hidden Hofjes, its bars and restaurants, and stylish shops it is surely the nicest place to stay in Amsterdam. It felt like being in a large village rather than a sprawling city. And then, after a day of exploring, what could be better than to chill out at Sjudoransji. So comfortable, designed with such love and care, we were welcomed like friends by Godfrey. Spotlessly clean with a luxurious bed, great shower, balcony, and lovely quirky touches. Breakfast was fun, unwrapping all the Dutch treats! We loved it all, thank you Godfrey and Dennis, we would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Last week we spent one night at Sjudoransj in the Jordaan in Amsterdam. We had a wonderful stay, very comfortable beds and sheets, a good shower with bathproducts from Rituals and a good breakfest. Next time if we go to Amsterdam we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've been traveling for three months and Sjudoransj has been the best so far in many, many ways! Wonderful bed with three pillows each (more impressive coming from France than other places maybe), a warm welcome from our hosts, a very convenient location in one of the best areas of Amsterdam. The B&B is a 15-20 minute walk from the train station, a 5 minute walk to Anne Frank House, and a short distance to many excellent restaurants.

The breakfast though has to be one of the highlights. Delivered to our room with a copy of the Orange Post, an "illustrated weekly newspaper" published by our hosts, which gives information about what to see and do in Amsterdam and some fascinating facts about the city and its people. It also offers details of the breakfast which includes a liter of fresh orange juice, boiled biological free range eggs, bread, rolls, ham, cheese, etc all from shops within a block of the B&B; much more than we could eat even with packing some up for lunch!).
The stairs are steep, but Godfrey and Dennis were happy to help with the big cases.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper, as I am, you might want to try for the room one the back. Double g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Vermeer sweet. The room was fresh and clean and the bed very comfortable. Godfrey and Dennis were available and courtieous and always willing to recommend sights and restaurants. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Joordan is a cool neighbourhood which is well placed to visit the city.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vermeer sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed over at Sjudoransj in July. We stayed in the Vermeer room, with its own private balcony! Perfect for late nights and morning coffee. The luxurious king size beds provided for a great night's rest at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was served in a fantastic picnic style crate, delivered to our door. Our hosts were very welcoming, but respected our privacy. We could easily access the trams from Sjudoransj or walk where we wanted to go. Very close to go and see the new Rijksmuseum! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The friendly hosts put a brand new baby bed in the room for our arrival. The location is very nice in a more quiet street of the lovely Jordaan area that we chose to spend most of our time in. Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sjudoransj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sjudoransj

Address: Goudsbloemstraat 91 - 1, Amsterdam 1015 JK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Fresh orange juice ...good coffee...comfortable beds....fine linen...luxury bathrooms...fluffy towels...design...attention to detail...really nice hosts...deli breakfast...fresh flowers...affordable...privacy..." Sjudoransj is a new upmarket Bed and Breakfast situated in the middle of Amsterdam's buzzing Jordaan. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjudoransj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sjudoransj to your Saves list