We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home far away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Weavery Boutique Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Weavery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Weavery Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2e Weteringdwarsstraat 67, 1017 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home far away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a great time at the B&B "The Weavery". We stayed at the silk room which was beautifully furnished and very spacious. Breakfast was perfect - tea, coffee from Nespresso machine, warm and fresh rolls, homemade jam and many more things. Also thanks to Bettina and Driss for all the warm help and great advices where to go for shopping, sightseeing and dining. Of course we also loved the sweet surprises (Muffins and Brownies). We recommended the B&B to all our friends and hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
44
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Weavery is a gorgeous place to stay, fabulously located and elegantly presented. Bettina was an amazing host, providing great dining recommendations and advice on transport, shopping and highlights of Amsterdam. Definitely one of the best B&B's we have experienced anywhere in the world and great value for the level of accommodation and service provided.
We look forward to a return visit next time we travel to Europe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I cannot rate the Weavery highly enough. Fantastic location, in lovingly restored traditional house, considerate & lovely hosts, every detail has been thought of, making it more a boutique hotel than a b&b. Sadly I only stayed one night but already planning a return visit so I can stay much longer!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We looked high and low for a place to stay in Amsterdam and then finally found The Weavery, so glad we did! As we are not fans of large hotels or fussy, lacy décor, the Weavery was like an oasis.... a beautiful and thoughtfully restored silk weavery that is 350 years old but completely modernized which staying true to the original design. We stayed in the Suite upstairs which is very roomy, has an excellent bathroom with a full-sized tub plus a large enclosed shower, quite a find in Europe and a treat when you are tall! The bed is very comfortable, linens are high quality, the kitchen is very well equipped and the furniture is clean lined and elegant. There's a wonderful balcony overlooking interior gardens that usually only locals get to experience, such a great place to sit outside and have dinner! Lots of thoughtful touches including an iPod player and a Nespresso machine with espresso pods. There's also a flat screen TV but who has time for that in Amsterdam??

Bettina and Driss are excellent and friendly hosts and every part of the process from booking to our departure was easy and enjoyable. Bettina takes the time to show you all the highlights on a map. Transportation to other parts of the city, in the form of a tram, is only block away. There's a nice organic grocery store plus a bakery and a standard supermarket just two blocks away, and it's quite close to the major museums as well. I liked the fact that it's not in a busy, noisy tourist area but is rather a quiet residential street.

We celebrated our anniversary here and Bettina went out of her way to make us feel special, she's a very talented baker indeed!

Overall, staying a the Weavery at the end of a long trip through Europe was the highlight of our holiday. I would recommend The Suite to anyone except people who struggle with mobility as the steps are quite steep and require decent footing, but they have a room downstairs that has easier access. I have travelled extensively and this is definitely one of most favorite places!

Room Tip: The Suite is amazing and worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Staying at The Weavery is like visiting with close friends who moved away and now welcome you into their home. Bettina and Driss are great hosts for their city. We stayed in the upper floor Suite and loved the experience of this classic Amsterdam building infused with all the latest B&B amenities. Some highlights:

Reservations: Reserving the room was easy via email. Bettina was very responsive to our emails and questions.

Recommendations: We were provided with restaurant and touring recommendations prior to arrival and Bettina assisted us with dinner reservations. All of their dining recommendations were outstanding: Mosfera, Winkel, Moeders, and the Odette Cafe.

Accommodations: The room is spacious and loaded with amenities. While you can read about them on their website, you'll find every detail has been thought through including wi-fi and a complete kitchen. When I realized I had not packed the correct electrical converter for the outlets, they provided me with one.

Location: Last time in Amsterdam I stayed across from the train station in the loud, crowded, touristy part of the city. The Weavery's location was so much better because it is on a quiet residential street with dozens of restaurants and shops within walking distance and a tram stop around the corner. The museum district is just across the street from the tram stop. Amsterdam is a very easy city to get around and the Weavery is convenient. We would go out sightseeing in the morning, hang out in the room after lunch and go out again in the evening. Our hosts marked locations on a map of the city so we could more easily find our way around.

btw, don't be embarrassed to take out your map anywhere in the city. Numerous times total strangers would stop and offer assistance to anyone with an open map. Locals know their city is full of tourists and they are so helpful, really unlike anything I have experienced anywhere else in the world.

Breakfast: What's a B&B without the Breakfast? How about a basket full of warm baked goods and boiled eggs waiting at your door each morning and a tray of meats and cheeses in the fridge. OJ, yogurt, fresh jams, tea and coffee are all in the room. Not just any coffee, but a high-end Nespresso. All yummy and enjoyed at your own leisure and comfort of the room.

Room Tip: As noted, stairs to the suite are narrow and steep. We liked the exercise, but if you are mobility i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Bettina helped us by making a couple of dinner reservations in advance. Additionally she gave us a great recommendation for lunch nearby. We arrived early afternoon and our room was ready. The location was perfect for going to the Rijksmuseum (our planned activity for the day). We had a nice rooftop terrace which we enjoyed while having an excellent breakfast ( hard boiled eggs, croissants and other breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, etc). The staircase to reach the room is something I will never forget (winding and steep). It is very cool-but be advised-if you have difficulty walking-you might not want the rooftop terrace room.

Room Tip: We had the room with rooftop terrace-lovely for breakfast al fresco
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Cool, chic, extremely comfortable, a breakfast to die for and the perfect location. Having travelled extensively, this stands out as an absolute gem with its attention to detail and extremely welcoming hosts. Bettina was able to make some very knowledgable recommendations for restaurants and advice about local attractions yet our privacy was never in question. Cannot praise this highly enough......you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The stars up to the suite are steep but well worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Weavery Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weavery Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2e Weteringdwarsstraat 67, 1017 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a protected 17th century house in the heart of old Amsterdam, the Weavery offers the unique character and style of a boutique hotel, with the personal service and homey comfort of a family run bed & breakfast."Gezelligheid" (roughly translated it means cozy and pleasant) we keep top of mind at the Weavery. Another key characteristic is independence. Each room is fully self-contained, with private bath and w/c, separate entrance and kitchenette.Our charming rooms feel like a home away from home to the independent minded traveler, who likes to move at his own pace. In short, we designed the Weavery to feel more like a pied-à-terre than a hotel or traditional bed & breakfast.The Weavery is as perfectly located as can be imagined. We are just 5 minutes walk from the museum square and a short stroll from all the big theaters. All the main shopping areas like Leidestraat, the 9 Streets and PC Hooftstraat are just around the corner and so are many lovely cafes and restaurants.Our rooms offer - Queen size beds- Ensuite bathrooms with bath/rain-shower and W/C- Bathrobes- Rituals bathroom amenities- Hairdryer- Kitchenette with double cook plate, microwave, dishwasher and fridge- Coffee/tea making facilities- Lounge corner- Flatscreen TV- Wireless Internet- Laptop Safe- ipod docking stationWe have two rooms: The Silk room which is located on the lower ground level and sleeps up to 3 people and the Suite, located on the 2nd floor, which has its own private roof terrace and sleeps up to 4 people. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Weavery Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.