We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable café” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar & Spice Bakery

Sugar & Spice Bakery
Zeedijk 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 2,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adorable café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had an amazing brunch here with my friend a few weeks ago. Prices were reasonable, the staff was nice and the food was great. The coffee was also excellent and the cakes looked very tasty - we were too stuffed after our brunch to taste it though :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to enjoy a great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I come really often to enjoy a great latte macchiato, and a great year sandwich or cheesecake.
There hummus with grilled vegetables was already sandwich of the week in a Dutch newspaper.

This is the perfect place to enjoy a moment of rest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing small bakery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Come here with my wife to have a cup of coffee.

The design is an amazing, Looks very homey and very inviting.

Coffee was really good, usually the coffee in Amsterdam is not the best but if you want good coffee you should visit this place.

We didn't eat anything but the food looked really good. If the food is as good as the coffee then I'm sure it's great.

Highly recommended if you are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Perfect coffee & amazing sandwiches, I wish I has room to try the perfect looking cakes too!

Lovely decor & friendly service, I'd definitely recommend this little gem :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just a nice place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My fiancee and I popped in here for a late breakfast one Sunday and were really impressed. The decor is rusticky (if that's a word) shabby chic, the food simple and home baked. Excellent coffee and a seriously good sandwich. Impeccable service.

It's the kind of place you only really see in insprational chic flicks (the heroine's earthy, overweight best friend would probably own it), or imagine in the fifties. Fair play to the owner and staff for making it happen right in the centre of a capital city. Needless to say my girlfriend adored it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar & Spice Bakery also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sugar & Spice Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar & Spice Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.