We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eye opener” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walking Amsterdam’s Red Light District

Walking Amsterdam’s Red Light District
Enge Kerksteeg 3, 1012 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0031(0)20 - 420 73 28
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“An eye opener”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This tour was not what we expected. Our guide was a retired male prostitute and conducted a very informative tour. It was much more than about sex.He described how the area was the safest in Amsterdam because of the security. We really enjoyed it and definitely recommend it if in Amsterdam.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Red Light not so bright”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

When in Amsterdam....
On a two day stop over after cruising The Rhine with Viking, we set out to explore. First observation is it's filthy dirty. Gum and cigarette butts cover the sidewalks. As much as I would like to be looking around at the sights, I was concerned with watching where I stepped. Food in restaurants was okay and lots of shopping in stores I can get at home. There are novelty stores full of penis and vagina candy, cookies claiming to have cannabis, and all sorts of dope paraphernalia. Sex stores, museums, typical touristy stuff. Of course we checked out the Red Light District, you have to, even in spite of my review. It was dirty with aforementioned gum and cigarettes and also garbage. Bags of garbage everywhere that were picked over by seagulls. Food on the ground and I have to say I welcomed the smell of pot because it covered the strong scent of urine. Naked women standing in doorways...yup just as I suspected, no surprise.
The second thing of note were the bikes, pedal bikes, over a million of them and they take the right of way over pedestrians and even cars. They are fast too and don't slow down. You should receive a shirt that says "I survived Amsterdam without being run over by a bike" I'm not exaggerating. Personally, I wouldn't go back. I can say I've been and that's good enough. It's just too dirty to enjoy (the streets not the people). It was my least favorite place I visited in 18 days, four countries, any many many cities. You too can see everything in a few short hours so make it your stop over but don't bother staying.

Unless you'll be high the whole time...that's another story.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must Do | Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a trip early on and we barely managed to get on the waiting list for this tour.. the group was so large it had to be split into two groups one with a lady and other with ' STEVE' and We both_My friend and I - two girls (seychelles+Indian) were so glad we got to go with him..This was the highlight of our Trip, we now have backing and funny strories thanks to Steve, He is Funny and protective (he took good care of his group) informative. we learnt that its not all about sex, we learnt about respect for the workers, we learnt about how tolerant the country is. I would recommend this trip to anyone going to Amsterdam for the 1st time and remember to ask for ' Steve / Steven)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Funny and Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

On our trip to Amsterdam we thought it would be funny to find out a little more about the Red Light District. I am so glad we did because the tour was hysterical, amusing and informative. Our tour guide, Steve, was shameless and explained all of the inner workings and norms of the city, down to how to roll a joint and pay for sex. I don't think I stopped laughing the whole 2.5 hour tour. But he also gave history of the city as well! Awesome experience, if you have time you should definitely check it out!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“red light district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The red light district is a must see, we went in the day time and in the evening! Both times it was interesting and an eye opener, with the prostitutes just standing in the shop window's and sex being sold so openly, hard to take it all in but all age groups where present and it was calm and chilled! There's so much more to Amsterdam than the red light district but if your there you need to visit it! Great experience,

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walking Amsterdam’s Red Light District also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Walking Amsterdam’s Red Light District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walking Amsterdam’s Red Light District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.