We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nam Kee

Nam Kee
Marie Heinekenplein 4, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 6702336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,212 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
holland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I loved the food, very good taste. We took duck and squid, it was delicious. The wantan soup was also very nice. The staf is helpful and friendly. And for Holland the prices are very low in this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    11
    12
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Average food and prices. Service was ok, not too friendly. I don't think I would go back again. We paid 35 eur for 2 portions of spring rolls, 2 main courses and 2 drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overly Crowded But Nice Chinese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nam Kee is one of my top option every time I miss the taste of Asia. This restaurant offers a wide array of Asian food (not only Chinese because they also offers you Indonesian, SIngaporean and Penang style food). The peking duck and minced spinach in garlic and terasi sauce (I am not sure whether they really have this veggie style in the menu or not, but I have ordered it several times) are not to be missed.

One thing for sure, be ready to line up there waiting to be seated!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good chinese restaurant , friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We used Lonely Planet to find a chinese restaurant in Amsterdam & Nam Kee came up as a recommendation (they have 3 in Amsterdam) .

We booked online & arrived at the restaurant to be welcomed by the manager & to find it packed with Chinese patrons (a cliche but always a good sign)

They have extensive English & Spanish menus & we had a lovely meal.

Very modern restaurant & on the 16,24 & 25 tram route

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The building is authentic, but the food is lost in time. At first we thought we ordered wrong...but the food was lacking character and flavor. We really wanted to like it, but were unable to force the food down.
The service was attentive and the owner/manager was gracious. I think the menu and food could use some improvements!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nam Kee also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Nam Kee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nam Kee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.