We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zuper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Marie - CLOSED

Cafe Marie
Marie Heinekenplein 6, 1072 MH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
031-20 223 2096
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Description: Marie is a cozy café near the center of Amsterdam. At Marie, you can enjoy delicious Schnitzels and authentic Swiss cheese fondue every day. During breakfast/lunchtime, we prepare tasty dishes with a nostalgic touch. Marie is a great place to gather with friends and have a great meal at one of our big wooden tables. Not only during the day but also at night Marie is a nice place to have a drink with friends.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Zuper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

great night out, leaving do. Lekker Schnitzel, good atmosphere. Just need to speed up the service if its busy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Waitress was brilliant, food was amazing and good value! Atmosphere was nice, mix of locals and tourists. Noel was a beaut!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ended up here as the tapas bar we had been recommended was full. The bar area has hundreds of tapestries on the wall and is quite interesting! The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed and we were seated at long wooden tables with wooden benches. The menus were in Dutch with no English available but the waiter was extremely helpful and explained everything. The food was very good especially the Schnitzels and the sauces were delicious. We wanted wine with the meal and when we were undecided the waiter brought us some to try. The Rose was very good. Very enjoyable

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stopped in to grab some lunch before going to the Heineken Experience. We got tostis which were extremely good - the bread was delicious and the sauce they served it with was awsome, I hadn't tasted anything like it before and they make it in house.

They had free wi-fi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel not too far from there and though wed try it out for breakfast!

They make great food and a great price! The hot chocolate is to die for!

The atmosphere including the decor and the music just set the tone for a perfect meal with friends. Great, relaxing, and chill.

They also offer free wifi which is also a plus when you're on holiday :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Marie also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.