We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste and texture delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sirene

La Sirene
Apollolaan 2, 1077BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 570 5724
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #268 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $24 - $44
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Vegetarian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: A wonderful panoramic view over the canals, superb wines and magical food are the unique ingredients of LaSirene restaurant. The menu has been created with the best seasonal ingredients, local products and the best of ourselves. LaSirene is honored in the 2014 Michelin guide with a BIB gourmand, an award for outstanding value for money. We look forward to welcome you! Team LaSirene
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Taste and texture delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a fabulous meal in this restaurtant on our first night in Amsterdam, staying in the hotel to which the restaurant "belongs". Fantastic view of the canals, intimate and relaxed atmosphere, professional, good humoured staff, fabulous food; great combinations of flavour and texture. We had the three course menu, and were surprised and delighted with the numerous amuse bouches which precedeed and followed the menu. A real delight.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best dinner in ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife & I found La Sirène in a Dutch language online review, and while we do not speak much Dutch, the pictures of some of the dishes said "gotto try this!".

Finding the restaurant proved the first and only item we had even the slightest issue with. It's carefully hidden inside the Wyndham Hotel, don't think you'll find the name of the restaurant on a sign anywhere even if you look.

Once inside - what can I say. A magnificent three course dinner, the lobster appetizer outstanding, the fish (Rode Poon, aka Gurnard) more outstanding than that, cooked to perfection, accompanied by delicious spices and sauces, not a fish bone in sight. Desert out of this world. The presentation was just as gorgeous, delivered in first rate service, with details and context for everything offered, prompt and courteous, we could not have asked for anything more! The table, with a beautiful view on the water, rounded off this most exceptional experience.

Easily the best dining experience in a week long Amsterdam visit, and the best anywhere in a long time before that. The San Francisco Bay area has its nice venues, but La Sirène really does stand out. Would go back here any time we return to Amsterdam in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple but great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a wonderful fish evening, all the dishes were wonderful and had great flavours. There was a possibility to change wines with each course but we enjoyed our first white wine and had this throughout the meal

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Unimpressive service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had booked a table for lunch with a client a couple of weeks in advance. Show up 5 min early and is told the restaurant now actually has been fully committed to a large group and they could not accomodate our booking. Suggested we have lunch in the bar instead with a basic bar menu ... Asked why they had not called me in advance to let me know and was just told 'We could have done that'. Total indifferent service!

A first and not very professional.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food in hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The food was good, we had a three course dinner, molecular cooking style, which means mousses and foam etc. Good bread and nice amuses before the first course arrived. Fried scallops as a starter was nice, so was the cod as a main course. The desert with pear in a chololat sauce was uneventful, with the chocolat too dominant. Good tapwater for free and good housewines by the glass. Good for a restaurant in a hotel. The service was much too amicable to our taste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sirene also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sirene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.