We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small is better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Dam, Louis Bar

Cafe de Dam, Louis Bar
Damstraat 4, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6245331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“small is better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent a night in Louis bar good music not to loud and very relaxed atmosphere. Mixture of young and old.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Dam do cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great bar to star the night in amsterdam what more can I write to make the hundred characters, just good beer music and people
in the heart of the dam area

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Really cool little bar - the 'smallest in Amsterdam' apparently.
It really is small, we were a group and basically took it over!
Location is right off Dam Square, really relaxed staff let us select the music, good choice of beers, loads of football scarves on the ceiling etc.
Worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Bar, superb location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had a couple of days layover in Amsterdam last week and found myself bar-hopping in the centre of town. Had been in this bar at night with my wife a few weeks back and had a good time. During the day is just as friendly, the service is chilled, efficient and relaxed. It's really small but thats great as there's no hold up when wanting to order drinks. Arrived bang on opening time on Friday (11am) and slipped very quickly into a happy place! They don't do food, but that's fine by me because it's a bar for adults to drink in - not a bar trying to be a restaurant.

Back in 'Dam next month and will definitely put this on my must visit list.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little bar near Dam Square.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a very small and cosy bar with a great atmosphere. I've been here a few times with my mates. The local beer is great, but you can still get Amstell here as well. But be warned.... It's very hard to get a seat, especially at night!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Dam, Louis Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe de Dam, Louis Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Dam, Louis Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.