We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boat experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest-Houseboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest-Houseboat
Brouwersgracht 119 C, 1015 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great boat experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time staying in one of the guest house boats. The other time we were across the canal and we were equally impressed. We booked the boat through homeaway thinking it would be the same one in the pictures, but she had a different one available that was equally as nice. The view from both boats are incredible, and both are beautifully decorated and come with two beers and a bottle of wine. there were also some yummy waffle cookies to enjoy. Last year, we came on an early flight from new york and we were lucky nobody was there the night before, so they met us at 6:30am for checkin! The area is fantastic and the hosts make you feel very welcome! We can't wait to go back again sometime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were arriving in Amsterdam on Sept 3, and a lot of the hotels were either fully booked or really expensive (even booking 6 months in advance!). I found the Guest-Houseboat online and decided to try it out. We were not disappointed. We actually stayed in a houseboat owned by the same owners, across the Brouwersgracht. It was comfortable and relatively spacious, with a nice terrace to watch boats, swans and ducks go by. The location was great - a short walk from the Centraal train station. Paul greeted us to let us in and show us the amenities, which included a small kitchen and some free coffee, beer, orange juice and snacks. He also shared a wealth of information about the neighborhood (there is a fantastic sandwich shop nearby, as well as a couple of supermarkets). The only downside - it was a bit warm during our stay, and the houseboat does not have air conditioning (although it does have a ceiling fan). Other than that, we had a lovely stay, and would recommend this unique experience to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Staying in a houseboat was a great experience. It was located in a very beautiful area, the Jordaan is the Greenwich Village of Amsterdam. 10mins walk from the station and 15mins walk to the central touristy parts to the east. Café's (breakfast or lunch) are all around and Markets on certain days.

The room was very spacious and nicely segregated into the bedroom and the living room area. It had all the usual conveniences, but with a full kitchenette - fridge and a coffee-maker. The WiFi & TV was a great plus. It even had a ceiling fan to keep us cool at night. Good security with lockable windows and a safe.

The owners were very helpful and accommodating.

Waking up and then having a coffee on the little balcony (for two) over the canal, with occasional ducks swimming by, is a very pleasant way to start the day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Unique and cool. We loved staying in the houseboat, for us the Jordaan is the best area in Amsterdam, you really feel like you're away from the more commercial side.
There are some great cafes and bars around too. The folks who own the houseboat(s) are helpful and take the time to make sure you're happy and settled.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oregon City, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I feel so lucky to have stayed at the guest-houseboat. It was perfect and wish I could have stayed more nights! Studio room was good size for one or two, very clean and comfortable.The location is excellent (in the Jordaan district and close to central Amsterdam). Right on the canal, it's relaxing to have such a wonderful view of the waterway and the swans that come right up to the deck. I will definitely plan to stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We thought we would enjoy staying in a houseboat, but did not realize the main advantage -- that, even when you are at 'home', you are in the neighborhood, in a way that is just not possible from a hotel room. (Well.... maybe if you had a room with a balcony overhanging a canal, but I haven't heard of one of those.) From your deck, or table by the window, you can watch 'Amsterdam' (walkers, bikers, canal boats) go by.

We spent more here than we have on other weekly rentals, but a couple of more meals at home, in as nice an environment as any restaurant we visited, made up the cost difference.

Kitchen facilities are Basic (for cooking: a 2-burner stove and microwave) but simple meals will complement the wealth of exotic restaurant offerings in town. (And the eggs here are delicious!) Two very well stocked grocery stores (one specializing in naturals) are barely a block away.

We thought the Jordan was the most charming neighborhood in the city. There was a street fair (every Saturday?) just across the canal, including street musicians. The 'brown cafe' on the corner was friendly and comfortable.

If you are a walker, you can get around that way throughout this concentrated city from here. I had broken a bone in my foot two weeks before (!) so we made good use of the very extensive public transportation system. Closest stop is a short 3 blocks away (bus 18, 21, 22) going to Central Station, from which you can transfer anywhere. (Alternatively, you can walk the approx. 10 blocks to get there. Less to the Ann Franke house; slightly farther to Dam Square.)

We bought the Museumkaard and made good use of it to visit many of the dozens of wonderful museums in the city. (Fast-tracking into the Rijksmuseum & Van Gogh were much appreciated. Looooonnnggg lines.)

Best views from the Nemo/Science Museum (the harbor), and the Blue Café (360 degree of rooftops of the city). We also especially liked Rembrandt's house; the windmill on the edge of the city which he used to sketch; and the Amsterdam History Museum.

Patricia was as good a host as you could imagine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We jumped at the chance to stay on a houseboat in Amsterdam and were not disappointed. Patricia provided a good level of detail in getting to the property, and we were met by Paul upon arrival.

The boat was lovely, modern and with all general amenities. The space is a little small but it's to be expected. Nice touches such as free wine, beer and orange juice were appreciated.

The houseboat is right in the middle of the old town and there are some fantastic sites and restaurants nearby.

The experience was certainly worth it but the rate of 180 Euros is a touch on the pricey side.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Guest-Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest-Houseboat

Address: Brouwersgracht 119 C, 1015 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This self-catering studio apartment on a houseboat is a unique way to experience Amsterdam on the water. The houseboat is located on one of the oldest canals of Amsterdam Historic Canalbelt. The Brouwersgracht is in the famous and most favoured Jordaan area and is in walking distance from many important sites, like the Anne Frankhouse and The Palace on Damsquare to name a few. There are many restaurants, cafees, outdoor terrasses and quaint shops just in the area. The studio apartment is self-catering and has a fully equiped kitchinette, luxury bathroom and has a small terras on the waterside, where you can see small pleasure boats going past and people enjoying a day on the water. The best way the experience Amsterdam! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest-Houseboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Guest-Houseboat to your Saves list