We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boat and location, tad over-priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest-Houseboat

Save Saved
You added The Guest-Houseboat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
The Guest-Houseboat
Brouwersgracht 119 C, Amsterdam 1015 GD, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful boat and location, tad over-priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We jumped at the chance to stay on a houseboat in Amsterdam and were not disappointed. Patricia provided a good level of detail in getting to the property, and we were met by Paul upon arrival.

The boat was lovely, modern and with all general amenities. The space is a little small but it's to be expected. Nice touches such as free wine, beer and orange juice were appreciated.

The houseboat is right in the middle of the old town and there are some fantastic sites and restaurants nearby.

The experience was certainly worth it but the rate of 180 Euros is a touch on the pricey side.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay, 9th - 12 th april 2013. We arrived at 9am and where given the number of Paul to contact. we rang and he met us within 15 minutes at the houseboat. We were allowed to chack in early as no one had stayed the night before. Inside the house boat is modern and clean. excellent facilities and free beer and wine. also free coffee, although we drank it all and bought our own...Paul was very friendly and explained about the local area and must see places to visit. we did visit Winkels and it really does serve the best apple pie ever!!
we walked miles and the houseboat was in the perfect location. sadly it rained for most of our stay but the bost was warm and cozy.
on departure, paul will meet you at 12, and if required, keep your bags until you need them!!
we had a wondeful stay. after a recent house move (3 dats before our trip) it was much needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Immaculate accommodation and a gorgeous setting in the Jordaan area on the canal. The hosts were more than helpful with email communication before our trip. It felt like we had our own special little apartment with beautiful furnishings and a very clean and well equipped kitchen. Superb and we will be returning. Outstanding!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Finally I can review this wonderful accomodation in Amsterdam: last August we spent here lovely days. The houseboat is brand new and tastefully furnished; there is a fully equipped kitchenette (the supermarket is around the corner); the bathroom has a big shower... you can also enjoy a small outside platform from which to observe ducks, swans and boats passing by.... Patricia, the owner, was incredibly kind and attentive and so Peter and Diana who welcomed us. The location is enviable: very close to the central train station (just a 10 minutes walk - you can cover it also on foot with luggage), to the city center and to Anna Frank's house, it is situated in the Jordaan, a wonderful and lively neighbourhood plenty of restaurants and bars.
Really a different holiday, I strongly recommend everybody to try it at least once in their life!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Guest-Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest-Houseboat

Address: Brouwersgracht 119 C, Amsterdam 1015 GD, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This self-catering studio apartment on a houseboat is a unique way to experience Amsterdam on the water. The houseboat is located on one of the oldest canals of Amsterdam Historic Canalbelt. The Brouwersgracht is in the famous and most favoured Jordaan area and is in walking distance from many important sites, like the Anne Frankhouse and The Palace on Damsquare to name a few. There are many restaurants, cafees, outdoor terrasses and quaint shops just in the area. The studio apartment is self-catering and has a fully equiped kitchinette, luxury bathroom and has a small terras on the waterside, where you can see small pleasure boats going past and people enjoying a day on the water. The best way the experience Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Guest-Houseboat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest-Houseboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.