We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like fresh fish, sensitively cooked” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eenvistweevis

Eenvistweevis
Schippersgracht 6, 1011 TR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6232894
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #458 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you like fresh fish, sensitively cooked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

and in generous portions, all without it being too fussy, new wave or clever, then come here.

The night we came, the service was slow, chaotic even (I'm sure there was a good reason), but the food was worth waiting for.

Why would you be in a hurry anyway?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    11
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vinnitsa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This tiny and inviting restaurant is off the main tourist street, near the University. It feels more like you're visiting friends - the room ends with the bar, and then goes half-open kitchen.
But what really makes this place exceptional, is outstanding quality of ingredients, and the chief's craftsmanship. The menu is short, but every entry is a chef d'oeuvre.
A-must for seafood admirers!
As there are just 7 tables, booking is advised.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“fish perfection ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

this little neighbourhood 'huiskamer' restaurant has been pleasing 'fishionados' quietly for years, yet we only just 'discovered' it ... no worries, we're gonna make up for lost time ..:)
Cod steak with light mustard dressing was 'perfect, the butter-grilled dover soles were 'perfect, the accompanying steamed veggies were 'perfect' ... lightness of meal, washed down with a very pleasant house rioja white , comes to under €30 p.p. which was 'totally worth it'..

other dishes on the menu were turbot, zarzuela, sea-bass... all very tempting, made us 'certain' to be going back very very soon ..

a lovely addition to our 'favorite' list ..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Fish Restaurant of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you want to go out for dinner with a Dutch vibe, you should go to this lovely fish restaurant.
It's not touristic at all, but still in the centre of Amsterdam.
For dinner, I choose a wonderful fish plate; a skatewing with beurre noisette. The taste was so intens. My girlfriend took a meatdish, a steak which was great to. Next to the maincourses we got a salad, veggies and patatos which were included the price of a maindish. And before we got some bread with oil and butter served from the house.
The service was excellant. The waitress was very experienced in doing her job, we had a little chit chat and finally she helped us finding our way. The atmospheer in this little restauarant is great with a view on one of the Amsterdam canals. I come very often in Amsterdam and tried quite a lot of fish restaurants, but this experience was by far the greatest. So I definitely recommend to have dinner in Eenvistweevis.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eenvistweevis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Eenvistweevis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eenvistweevis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.