We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Lijnbaansteeg 5-7 | 1012 TE, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 55356467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,274 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $10 - $78
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tales & Spirits is a craft cocktail bar and restaurant in the historical center of Amsterdam. Serving exquisite cocktails and delicious food for affordable prices all with a big smile and extraordinary hospitality. T&S is a grown up eating & drinking establishment, admittance reserved to ladies & gentlemen over the age of 21. Our focus lies on providing incredible experiences, using classic and innovative culinary & mixology techniques, stunning presentation and serving vessels, all designed and served in a fashion that will continually 'wow' you. But above all, we believe in having fun..... don't you?
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Call it mixology, cocktail mixing or just good bartendering. This place has what it takes. Original cocktails, well balanced and presented combined with great atmosphere created by the team behind the counter in this charming bar. Well worth a visit. Didn't try any of the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    108
    20
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional food but not enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The food and the cocktails are exceptional. The food options consist of creative combinations of ingredients. The staff is also quite helpful and with good mood. However, there are 2 main drawbacks of this place:
1) each "plate" is just enough for tasting it, not enough food to satisfy the appetite.
2) plates are quite expensive

Therefore, if you are hungry and want to have big portions and enough food, this is not recommended. On the other hand, if you want just to taste something different you can try it out, but make a reservation first.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had to review this place before leaving Amsterdam because it comes highly recommended by all my friends and the place did not disappoint.
Amazing place, just fantastic atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Epic place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wanting a place to go away from the tourist trap we visiting Tales and Spirits this week. It was the most inviting and welcoming bar that I went to in Europe. Sure we only had some (very tasty)bar snacks and a couple of cocktails but totally dedicated and exceptionally friendly staff ensured that our experience was 100%. Thanks, I will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“the most welcoming place in all Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We've been to quite a few restaurants/pubs in Amsterdam during our stay, but this was definitely unforgettable. The two waiters amaized us with their people skills and with their good mood. They adviced us cornening what cocktails to drink, they asked us later about them and yes, the drinks trully are fabulous! Creative, delicious and unique. Take for example "what if" and stick to more rum for a nice mojito. Mmmm!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tales and Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.