We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sneak away from sightseeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Lijnbaansteeg 5-7 | 1012 TE, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 55356467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tales & Spirits is a craft cocktail bar and restaurant in the historical center of Amsterdam. Serving exquisite cocktails and delicious food for affordable prices all with a big smile and extraordinary hospitality. T&S is a grown up eating & drinking establishment, admittance reserved to ladies & gentlemen over the age of 21. Our focus lies on providing incredible experiences, using classic and innovative culinary & mixology techniques, stunning presentation and serving vessels, all designed and served in a fashion that will continually 'wow' you. But above all, we believe in having fun..... don't you?
Pfaffikon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Sneak away from sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stumbled across Tales & Spirits on a breezy Amsterdam evening, being in a mood for drink and a bite to eat after a busy day and looking for a calm and cozy place. This tiny bar seemed to be the right place, tucked away in a small alley off Singel canal. They serve imaginative cocktails and light snacks in a casual setting amid antique chandeliers, high tables and Prohibition memorabilia. Professional and friendly service, great small place with laid-back and welcoming ambience.

Next time you you feel like you've had enough of sightseeing in Amsterdam, just drop in to Tales & Spirits.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    36
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Didn't eat here, but the cocktails were great! The touch of giving a little bottle of water with each was a really nice idea. Bar staff friendly and music was really good

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We went to Tales and Spirits on our first night in Amsterdam! Simply AMAZING from the delightful servers to the outstanding food! We started with the oysters which were outstanding. Loved the whole experience and we are hoping to go back again!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Didn't eat but blown away by the cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a serious cocktail bar, not a wine bar that also does some cocktails. The fantastic staff put a lot of effort into their cocktail making and service overall was tremendous.

Tales & Spirits has a great atmosphere, everyone really happy and enjoying themselves. Try a Zombie - four different Rums PLUS Absinthe... loads of unique drinks and presentation is extraordinary. The Zombie comes in a 'shrunken head' tankard, while another cocktail is presented in a miniature bath with a Barbie doll taking a dip!

Easy to spend a whole night here into the early hours, especially if you take on board some of their delicious looking food as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You need to visit here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Me & my girlfriend went to Amsterdam for three nights and we wanted somewhere nice to go for a drink on the evening time so we had a look at some local bars and the reviews for this bar looked excellent so we thought we would visit. Firstly the staff are really welcoming and friendly and generally had really good banter which made an excellent atmosphere. Secondly the cocktail menu was amazing, I have visited many cocktail bars in the past and I must say this is one of the best I have seen, prices are average really for cocktails at about 10 -12 euros each on average but are really worth it. I would definitely say if you are staying for a couple of night or longer that you should try and pay a visit here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tales and Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.