We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerously great cocktails!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Lijnbaanssteeg 5-7 | 1012 TE, 1012 TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 55356467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 2,507 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We love food, every second, every minute and every hour we think about food. Eating shouldn't be done only three times a day. We like to eat all day long. That is why our kitchen is open till late in the evening. In our kitchen we don't differentiate between starters and main courses. Just order what you like and if you want to eat more, you order another dish. Our kitchen combines the best of different international cuisines, using classic and avant-garde culinary techniques. Did we mention we love food? Hmmmm.... However we might love our drinks even more! The variety in drinks is so big, that nobody should stick to one drink in their life. At T&S we offer you a wide variety of spirits which all have their own story. We like to introduce you to new flavor combinations in our drinks and tell you the tale of the spirits which come together in your glass.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dangerously great cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I have run up some pretty huge bar bills in here! The drinks are great, the food is really nice and the staff are excellent. It's my favourite cocktail bar in Amsterdam. Try the Fallen Lady!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    46
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, service and cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nothing but good things to say about this restaurant. The service, food and cocktails were amazing. Prices were perfectly reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for food and cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Tales and Spirits is one of my favourite restaurants in Amsterdam to go with my friends for food and cocktails. I think the service here is their best asset, it is far above the standards in Amsterdam and amazes me every time. The cocktails are also very good and there is a wide range you can choose from. The food menu changes for the season, but I always pick the truffle Risotto, as it is the best!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and very trendy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We came to Tales & Spirits after looking on the iamsterdam website before our trip. It didn't disappoint!

It was really busy when we entered but managed to get a spot at the bar. The bar man was very friendly, funny and accommodating!

I was slightly shocked by the prices of the cocktails but hey we were on holiday and we really did like the atmosphere!

My cocktail was delicious and came in the quirky jam jar and with basil! My boyfriend went for a manly whiskey classic cocktail. They also gave you a small bottle of water which is good thinking!

If we go to Amsterdam again we will definitely come again and probably have a bite to eat as well!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Nice bar, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Nice atmosphere and staff. They serve a multitude of interesting, albeit expensive, cocktails. I went with the “smoke and mirrors” which was interesting (not bad, not great, just okay) which had … smoke and was served on a mirror. Very friendly vibe and personnel at the bar. We didn’t eat there so I can’t rate the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tales and Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.