We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Special Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Lijnbaansteeg 5-7 | 1012 TE, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 55356467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,281 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $10 - $78
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tales & Spirits is a craft cocktail bar and restaurant in the historical center of Amsterdam. Serving exquisite cocktails and delicious food for affordable prices all with a big smile and extraordinary hospitality. T&S is a grown up eating & drinking establishment, admittance reserved to ladies & gentlemen over the age of 21. Our focus lies on providing incredible experiences, using classic and innovative culinary & mixology techniques, stunning presentation and serving vessels, all designed and served in a fashion that will continually 'wow' you. But above all, we believe in having fun..... don't you?
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Special Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Came here with friends about a week ago to celebrate my birthday, and it probably was the best birthday dinner I've ever had. We started with amazing cocktails as aperteifs, had two courses and desert with great wine to match, and at every stage people were raving about their food and drink choices as some of the best they've had. One of those evenings where every drink and every plate was a home run!

It's certainly on the pricey side- more a special occasion place to visit on my usual budget- but the service and atmosphere and food are impeccable (and even if you just want to go for drinks that's fine here, it's arguably the best cocktails you'll have in Amsterdam).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    109
    20
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Drinking is a serious thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I read about this bar on a guide, that describe it as best bar in the world. No matter how the bill will be, i need to try it, i said myself. Not far away from Dam Square and the port, Tales and spirit is an elegant bar, modern but contemporary, with the right design. i went here three times, in couple of days. The guys working behind the desk, are friendly, passionate and serious. The list got beautiful drinks, complex, with special names. Also the glasses for an example of my long island was special. Water before any drink, young people around, only the music not match the perfect atmosphere in the air. by the way, maybe not the best bar in the world, i don't know, but for sure a place building with passion, elegance and heart. that's what a i need, a dynamic vibration inside, the cool touch of modern respecting the tradition. If you're in amsterdam, this is an address you can't miss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top Notch Cocktail Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been living in Amsterdam for over 7 years and T&S is by far the coziest yet elegant and cheeq bar I have ever been to. The cocktails are very creative and delicious. The presentation is very entertaining. Also, the food which you don't expect from every cocktail bar is rather good. The options are limited but the taste compensates that.

In T&S, one has many options I think. It is a place in which you can either start the night with few cocktails before going for dinner or you can combine drinks with dinner or even visit the place after dinner when they turn the volume of the music a littler higher.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Perfect New Year's Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just spent New Year's Eve at this innovative restaurant. Upon entering we noticed the enormous bar and rustic atmosphere. One would think that the restaurant serves nachos and mozzarella sticks. But instead, we had one of the best New Year's Eve meals ever. I had been emailing the restaurant for weeks about a reservation and to inquire about a vegetarian option for their prix fixed menu for the evening. We sat down and noticed that the restaurant had printed menus for our meal. What a wonderful touch to a special night. The chef was very creative in his choice of vegetarian selections. Each course was so delicious that we could not wait for the next one! The waitstaff was very attentive and the timing of the dishes was perfect. We will always have very fond memories of our New Year in Amsterdam.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing is an understatement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I wouldn't call this the worst place I've ever been to, but it's close. For the price, you would expect some substance.

Obnoxious service and sample size portions. Not sure what the concept of the place was when I went, but it sounded like it was "how many times can the waiter interrupt your conversation" night. The answer is 15 times. I kid you not.

When I say sample size portions, I literally mean that you could go into a supermarket and find marketers handing out cheese samples bigger than the cheese plate they serve here.

I would say the drinks are fine though. Nothing special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tales and Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.