We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Lijnbaansteeg 5-7 | 1012 TE, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 55356467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $10 - $78
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tales & Spirits is a craft cocktail bar and restaurant in the historical center of Amsterdam. Serving exquisite cocktails and delicious food for affordable prices all with a big smile and extraordinary hospitality. T&S is a grown up eating & drinking establishment, admittance reserved to ladies & gentlemen over the age of 21. Our focus lies on providing incredible experiences, using classic and innovative culinary & mixology techniques, stunning presentation and serving vessels, all designed and served in a fashion that will continually 'wow' you. But above all, we believe in having fun..... don't you?
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My friends and I have just returned from a weekend in Amsterdam and I feel compelled to write this review. We went for a meal here on Saturday 9th November having booked a table after reading previous reviews. The evening was fantastic. There were 4 of us in our party (average age 48 years - all female) and we had a ball. The staff were attentive, the atmosphere was lively and the cocktails and food were just great. The street was a bit difficult to find but when I telephoned the restaurant to explain that I couldn't find them the guy came out on to the street to find us!
I have eaten out in a number of great restaurants and I have had far too many cocktails in my time but I can honestly say this place is one of the best I have been to in terms of fun, friendliness and warmth.
I wholeheartedly recommend it. (Booking a table is advisable!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    99
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic T&S”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

this cocktail bar, speakeasy style, it not only beautiful, doesn't only have incredible cocktails, but also fantastic food. Small tasteful and sophisticated dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Creative delicious drinks worth their price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great selection, amazing presentation (ken doll in a bathtub!!!), a bit on the expensive side but absolutely worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“In the right spirit for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Was introduced to this place by a Dutch colleague for after-office drinks. And what a gem it turned out to be.

Tucked in an alleyway with a nondescript entrance, the charm of Tales & Spirits only revealed itself behind those thick velvet curtains. Bare brick wall, suspended chandeliers, dimly-lit interior all add to the mystique vibe of the place.

The drinks certainly do not disappoint. But be warned, the food portions are tiny.

I ordered the Beef Tenderloin - Grilled beef shoulder tenderloin with smoked bacon, cream of onion, grapes marinated in curry and pommes carré. It was beautifully cooked and presented. Exquisite flavours, as the combination of the beef, bacon, grapes and curry danced circles on my taste buds.

I paired that with What if...? - a twist on the Daiquiri with Bacardi Superior, Fresh lime and pineapple- ginger shrub. And it was sublime.

Then I had Fallen Lady. "In honour of the hard working, honest women of the neighborhood, unjustly referred to throughout history as "fallen" women. A sexy combination of Ketel One vodka, Mozart dark chocolate liqueur, raspberry syrup, fresh lemon juice and Bittermen's Burlesque bitters." The ladies of the night would be so proud!

The whole cocktail bar-restaurant experience was so intoxicating I actually came back the next day where Old-Fashioned Whisky and bitterballen ruled the night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Must visit bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This bar is well located, nicely designed and has fabulous drinks, The food looked great but we already had reservations. The bar has a story of a woman and her lover drawn in panels across the front and there are interesting nick nacks and quote everywhere, including the toilets! Drinks are very well made and interesting too with lovely staff. A must visit when here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tales and Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.