We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Lijnbaansteeg 5-7 | 1012 TE, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 55356467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tales & Spirits is a craft cocktail bar and restaurant in the historical center of Amsterdam. Serving exquisite cocktails and delicious food for affordable prices all with a big smile and extraordinary hospitality. T&S is a grown up eating & drinking establishment, admittance reserved to ladies & gentlemen over the age of 21. Our focus lies on providing incredible experiences, using classic and innovative culinary & mixology techniques, stunning presentation and serving vessels, all designed and served in a fashion that will continually 'wow' you. But above all, we believe in having fun..... don't you?
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

brilliant place. Great service, great good and amazing cocktails. Very cool all round. Its a small place, so better suited to couples or small groups. Sharing concept for the food so order lots of options and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    36
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a very cool place and I am surprised it has not gotten more reviews. It's centrally located and draws a very hip and young crowd. The drinks are amazing and the food is really inventive. The portions are larger than tapas so you won't be over stuffed but definitely satisfied. Like it so much we true to go twice on our week long trip, which we generally try not o do.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This little place has just opened and it is wonderful. The bar staff at our hotel recommended this place as he had trained under the guidance of the owner and the concierge told us that he had been there the night before.
It's a small place with about 15 tables and some bar chairs.
we were told to order the "what if" cocktail by the hotel staff and this was very good and very strong!!!! The way the ordering goes is that you can order plates out and it's like a larger version of tapas.
we had the steak tartar, the lobster . chicken and another one or two things. Yummy cannot begin to describe it.
the toilet is upstairs with very steep steps down so do be careful after a few cocktails.
Very good would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a cocktail bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were a group of nine in to try the cocktails. The restaurant was fairly empty but they jammed us into the corner of the bar. The cocktails I had were not nice. My girlfriend couldn't drink hers and went on to the prosecco. One of the barmen was very rude and aggressive because he had to ask us to move. I tried to explain there was no room. It only made him worse. It really embarrassed our group. We paid and left. I am never going back. I'd recommend you to go to canal house it has better cocktails and is near by and they are not as portentous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What if ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Really professionals and passionate people offering us what they would like to receive ... What if ...we just go there and enjoy ?

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tales and Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.