We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaamse Friet Snackland

Vlaamse Friet Snackland
Damrak 58, 1012LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 331 7466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #309 of 2,611 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Fast Food, Hamburgers, Ice Cream, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Description: I am the owner of Snackland since 1980; a Flemish fries shop with all kinds of snacks, sandwiches and more than 20 sauces. We are opened every day from 10: 00 a.m. until 03.00 a.m. (Friday and Saturday till 06.00 a.m). You can buy our fries from 1.60 euros. Quality guaranteed: if you’re not content we’ll give your money back. We want to make our customers happy!
Merrick, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We were walking past and saw the long line. So we stopped and ordered a medium with just plain ketchup. These fries were hot, crispy, non-greasy and absolutely delicious. A wonderful snack to share.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

There is nothing special about these fries. Unless you go there for the weed sauce, which it won't try for moral reasons, I don't see what all the hype is about,

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VlaamseFrietdamrak58, Eigenaar at Vlaamse Friet Snackland, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Akehurs,

I'm glad you've found our store on Tripadvisor BUT the references you've made cann't be from our store as we don't sell weed-sauce!

If you'll look at the pictures of our store at Tripadvisor you can see that the store you went to is different than the store you refer to.
That store also sells fries and the weed-sauce you've mentioned. We don't sell weed sauce and our fries are tasty!

We invite you and your partner to our store at the Damrak 58 to have our special Belgium Fries with sauce (absolutely no weed-sauce!!!).




We will give it to you for free!



We wish you a pleasant stay in Amsterdam!

Best regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Crispy fries and dozens of sauces.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

While walking around the Dam district, along Damrak, we came across Vlaamse frites (75 mtrs from C&A towards Central station). The fries are cooked to order, very crispy and you have the option of nearly 30 different sauces to choose from. We actually snacked here 3 times during our recent visit to Amsterdam

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very tasty fries, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Loved the fries with mayo, a really big portion for just 2,90 euros. I recommend these fries to all!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“There's always a line there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very central place to eat your portion of dutch chips. The owner looks like he knows what he's doing, and he's been doing it for a long time. The chips are hot, fresh and tasty. Worth waiting in the line for 5 minutes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaamse Friet Snackland also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaamse Friet Snackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaamse Friet Snackland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.