We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crispy fries and dozens of sauces.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaamse Friet Snackland

Vlaamse Friet Snackland
Damrak 58, 1012LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 331 7466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #308 of 2,611 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Fast Food, Hamburgers, Ice Cream, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Description: I am the owner of Snackland since 1980; a Flemish fries shop with all kinds of snacks, sandwiches and more than 20 sauces. We are opened every day from 10: 00 a.m. until 03.00 a.m. (Friday and Saturday till 06.00 a.m). You can buy our fries from 1.60 euros. Quality guaranteed: if you’re not content we’ll give your money back. We want to make our customers happy!
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Crispy fries and dozens of sauces.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

While walking around the Dam district, along Damrak, we came across Vlaamse frites (75 mtrs from C&A towards Central station). The fries are cooked to order, very crispy and you have the option of nearly 30 different sauces to choose from. We actually snacked here 3 times during our recent visit to Amsterdam

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very tasty fries, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Loved the fries with mayo, a really big portion for just 2,90 euros. I recommend these fries to all!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“There's always a line there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very central place to eat your portion of dutch chips. The owner looks like he knows what he's doing, and he's been doing it for a long time. The chips are hot, fresh and tasty. Worth waiting in the line for 5 minutes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasty frites and drink for 4,50”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

very tasty frites and snacks not the best location but it is very very tasty when i'm in Amsterdam i come back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another average fries place on the Damrak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Yes, it is a popular local snack but to have fries on the damrak goes beyond reason. To be fare the fries are ok but the setting is terrible. Wander further afield for better.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaamse Friet Snackland also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaamse Friet Snackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaamse Friet Snackland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.