We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Primo Ristorante

Il Primo Ristorante
Reguliersdwarsstraat 13 - 15, 1017BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
203319370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,116 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't waste your money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Walked in through the open door on a windy cold evening. Got seated in the draft so asked to move tables and the tall waiter was very polite and said sure. We then had a different waiter who came over asked our drinks and order. At the same time another couple came in sat at the table by the open door keeping their coats and scarfs on. Another table filled across the restaurant with another three guests and thought this was a busy restaurant. The other two table got their drinks but we had to wait. Our drinks arrived and then the starters. In the meantime the other two tables after us had finished their starters and were getting their mains. We finished our starters and then sat and waited, and waited, and yes.... Waited! In the meantime the restaurant began to get less busy and our waiter went outside and sat down smoking. Mmmm where was our main course? We could see the kitchen and the two kitchen staff we just playing around and laughing even throwing a filleted salmon around and dropping it on the floor. Then putting it on the side - hopefully not going to cook with it but who knows.
After getting the waiters attention they looked surprised that we did not have the main course. H checked the till and then went to the kitchen when the two guys in the then dashed around. Obviously they had forgotten. I asked the wait did you forget and his attitude was negative and said how could he forget if he ordered our first course. Then continued to argue with me and said look let's finish this after you have eaten. Obviously the customer is always right is not in this restaurant client terms and conditions!!!! We ate our meal in silence and left.
No apology. I cheekily asked for discount maybe two free cokes nothing!!! You must be joking was their attitude. Never again. So beware of poor service and attitude from the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Extraordinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Everything is good here. It was a great surprise from the moment we stepped into the restaurant.

We often eat out. Very often. We are used to good restaurants and good quality. But this surprised us.

The place is not very big, and it does not look resplendent from the outside. Just cozy and properly. But down but please note that here we are ready to make an extra effort. Among others on the tables outside, which is nicely covered and adorned with charming herbs in decorative pots.

Inside is where clean, neat, cozy and convivial atmosphere. Modern, but still with soul and charm.

The service is a big part of the experience. Friendly, professional, service and attention to guests.

There are many small details. For example. the cooled beer glasses that only gets one's Heineken to taste even better.

The food is the very best. Italian dishes that taste better and are more well-prepared than in Rome, Milan or Florence.

But must visit place if you are visiting Amsterdam!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Atmospheric but so-so service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food at Il Primo is just fine. Nothing to write home about, but at the same time well-cooked and good value for money.
However, the staff is un-attentive and need to drop their attitude a notch or two. They perform their duties adequately, but need to go to charm-school.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Multo gusto!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

excellent soups! I recommend the tomatoes soup which is divine!!!
home made fresh bread with olives
excellent services
Italian chefs
well located in the hart of the city, close to the Flower market

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good food, good service. Nice Italian restaurant in a convenient part of town. My family had Spaghetti, lasagna and pizza. All was very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Primo Ristorante also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Il Primo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Primo Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.