We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warie's Thai food

Warie's Thai food
Rozengracht 235 | 1016 NA, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31206223638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #421 of 2,527 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout, Delivery
Description: One of the oldest Thai Restaurant in Amsterdam. Freshly prepared meals from our open kitchen. For take away at your convenience or to eat in our little restaurant.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I live next door and I really enjoy this little restaurant !
Fresh food cooked in front of you, very tasty very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eilat, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So good!!!! Great flavors and good sized portions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Came here after visiting the Anne Frank museum. Didn't know what we wanted to eat but luckily stumbled upon this place. The food is GOOD and the prices reasonable. If you want Thai food and are near the Anne Frank museum, come here and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towcester uk
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been to Thailand twice this year & no what to expect when eating quality food. I can honestly say it's the best thai food I have had outside of Thailand. Chicken with basil was perfectly food & tasted very tasty & authentic. I always have rice with a egg on top with my dishes . A thai thing I think. This was very good too. My girlfriend had pad thai & red thai curry . This was very tasty & authentic. The only complaint I have is that i cudnt wash it down with a singha beer

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai Food in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were looking for some authentic more Oriental type food in the China Town area of Amsterdam but didn't find a place that really stood out. So we walked a great deal out of that area and settled on this place simply because it said Thai and we were hungry. Its a very small place on the inside with maybe 7 or 8 tables and the chef who is in the middle working by herself to create Thai masterpieces. We had a few appetizers to begin with including: Tod Man Pla (Thai fish cakes), Koeng Hom Pha (spring rolls with shrimp), and Pang Sit (thai won tons with chicken). They were all served on one plate together and came out relatively fast. Each one was great, perfect snack for the two of us. We both ordered the same thing for dinner, Kaeng Phed Ped Yang (red curry with roast duck filet and pineapple). On the menu it has 2 chili peppers next to it suggesting it can be a medium spicy. I was able to request it not as hot and thus mine did not come with peppers but my friends did. He asked me to try the pepper at one point and I didn't think it would be that spicy but my mouth burned for about 3 minutes and I wanted to punch my friend in the face. Regardless, the duck was so juicy and tender and served in an orange kind of sauce with big pineapple chunks. Each dish came with a plate of rice for which I added directly to the main course. I was so happy with the food and extremely satisfied afterwards. It was great to watch this woman prepare all the meals at the counter and you could tell the attention to detail she had with every plate. Only downside was the server was a bit slow at getting us our drinks, it shouldn't take anymore than 5 minutes to receive your drinks, but that wouldn't turn me off from returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food glorious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was in Amsterdam last month ( Sep 2013 ) and finally found a thai to my liking. Reasonably priced even for a back packer, the menu was in both Dutch and English and the food was so so so tasty and fresh. I enjoyed watching it being made too and I didn't have to wait long for my starter even though I finished a bowl of free prawn crackers! A friendly and relaxed environment, I would highly recommend to anyone and would personally visit again. Thank you! one of the best meals I had whilst travelling throughout Holland :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warie's Thai food also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Warie's Thai food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warie's Thai food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.