We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food in the centre of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Songkran

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Songkran
Marnixstraat 86, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #703 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in the centre of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Excellent, authentic, Thai food right in the hubbub of red light district, very interesting customers and great scene, service a little slow, but very busy and all cooked fresh, so understandable...
hottest thai squid salad I've ever had....brilliant and so tasty....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Extremely slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very kind service, but we arrived at 20.40 and at 22.15 are still waiting for the main course. Food taste is ok, but nothing exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“origional thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

excellent thai food. The best I have eaten in a long time. Its always a plus to see the kitchen staff are from the origin country.
I recomment this restaurant to all people who want to eat original thai food.
I will go there each time I want to eat thaifood.
enjoy it and share the thoughts.
Stephan

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average and Slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We visited here recently and liked the look of it. we usually visit Billys or Kinaree.

The service was slow and our order came wrong in 2 aspects - on the starter and another mix up on the rice/noodles order with the main, I did ask the lady still to bring the rice still but it never came. The food when it arrived was not great, the fishcakes were sweaty, the beef in the massaman quite tough.

Having said all of this the price was reasonable by Amsterdam standards, service friendly, in fact the host is very good and a very nice man, and we just didn't feel we wanted to complain on the night.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Delicious real Thai!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This place has fantastic Thai food. Some of the best I've had outside Thailand and reasonable prices. It is pretty tiny and nothing fancy but delicious. We had soup, papaya salad, pad thai, a curry and 3 beers for about $50 Euros. Big portion sizes. Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Songkran also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Songkran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Songkran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.