We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and perfect service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Songkran

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Songkran
Marnixstraat 86, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #485 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Amazing food and perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We crossed by the resturent and it looked noce so we went in. It end up to be one of the beat thai restuarnts ive been with an amaing food and great service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    11
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“I don't know much about Thai cuisine, but I will attempt to find out more now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I'm not very knowledgeable about Thai cuisine, but based on this visit I'm going to try to discover more.
Jointly run by Dutchman host/front of house and his Thai wife, the chef, each of the 7 dishes chosen by our party of 4 were simply delicious.
Amongst the best we're Kai Pas Priew Prauw (Minced Chicken), Moe Pad King Pork Slices, Phad Thai Noodles and Massaman Kai Curry. (Spelling?)
As I said I am no expert, but these dishes, according to my son, are as authentic as they come and seemed to be made with very fresh ingredients.
Very reasonable prices.
Friendly and helpful service.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Thai food that makes you happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Amsterdam is not short of Thai restaurants, wo why walk an extra 10 minutes out of the centre of Amsterdam (from Anne Frank's House) to get to Songkran? For one the atmosphere is nice and the seating comfortable. Great host and quick service. The food is excellent, especially the 'sea bream in spicy sauce with basil' was fantastic. Nice wine and friendly prices. Warmly recommended

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is the place to be for real the Thai food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This little cosy Thai restaurant has been established since only 5 months. One can enjoy a broad range of excellent dishes at moderate prices, all prepared with fresh ingredients only. The taste is very authentic, thus sometimes rather hot spiced, but one can easily discuss the rate of spicing with the friendy host/owner and the cook will adjust the preparation of the dishes to the desired taste. To avoid disappointment, reservation is recommended, especially in the weekends. We had dinner with a group of 8 people and the staff could manage this. All dishes were of good temperature and came together on the table. This is a place to return to and to recommend to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Thai restaurant - Bangkok in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I took 4 friends from San Francisco to this amazing place. According to them, they had never had better Asian food in their lives. And I was not surprised. This restaurant serves genuine Thai food, the staff is entirely Thai. It's like if you were in Bangkok, and you can eat as much in "Thai style" as you want. In other words: as spicy as you want. The staff askes you how much "Thai style you can handle", when they take your order. Ingredients are as fresh as can be, the chef is a genius, the service is impeccable, and prices are very moderate. Without any doubt the best Thai restaurant in Amsterdam. DO make a reservation when you decide to go there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Songkran also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Songkran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Songkran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.