We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, very calm place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TerraZen Centre

TerraZen Centre
19 hs Sint Jacobstraat, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
31684851848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,343 of 2,584 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: Centrum
Beeston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food, very calm place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The place is very hidden, walked in there more or less randomly. It seemed a bit dodgy on first sight but the friendly, be it slow, service and the delicious udon noodles made up for it.
Can only recommend this place if you want to chill out and have a relaxed meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    11
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TerraZen Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Vegan resturant run by a jamican and japanese, not a law against. Jamacian music playing the back ground. Vegan chicken katsu burger ?9.80 and juice ?3.50. Ginger coffee was very nice ?3. A chocolate ans special cake to finish. Slow service but all round tasty vegan food with a smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely small vegan cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This cafe is fully vegan with a Japanese and Caribbean menu. Sounds odd? Yes, but the food is good. You'll get a head full of reggae music too, which I have to say is not my favourite... The cafe itself could do with a bit of a face lift but as it's a small place with a not too expensive menu it might be struggling a bit to spend money on decorations. For Amsterdam this cafe's prices are very reasonable as it's all freshly cooked. I got the sauted tofu which was very tasty and my husband got vegan chicken katsu which was also very good. He also got a side of miso soup which was one of the best miso soups I've tasted. I'd second that you shouldn't go here for 'fast' food. I will be back to try out more of the menu!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good plan for vegan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

It´s a great place for vegan!
A welcome and a personalized service great. A real exchange is made and a lot of good explications of all the dishes homemade!
Really Really great!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved Every Mouthful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Be prepared for a relaxed environment and perhaps don't go there if you're in a rush. I loved every single bite of my food and even though we were only in Amsterdam for a couple of days we returned there for a second meal. It's a mish-mash, slightly disorganised and not necessarily true to the menu. But if you can go with the flow and be adventurous then this is the place to go. I ordered a burger and got something completely different - whatever it was though, was incredible! Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TerraZen Centre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to TerraZen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TerraZen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.