We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy bar with lots of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Langereis

Cafe Langereis
Amstel 202, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 (0) 20 7850641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #635 of 2,541 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Wigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Busy bar with lots of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Popped in for one - stayed for three! The atmosphere was lively, relaxed and chatty - almost bo-ho. Enjoyed the feel of the place, friendly customer group, welcoming service. A welcome retreat on the stroll around the local area just away from Rembrandtplein. Looks like you are aiming no-where and this is on an open corner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Waitress/bartender was so nice and friendly. Great food. Perfect first stop for our trip here in Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend as a nice place to stop and relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermeo, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice little café”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a lovely cup of tea in this very nice café situated in the heart of Amsterdam. Nicely decorated, with a wide array of games to help you enjoy a quite afternoon. Of course, being all the games in dutch didn´t quite help us but that´s really not the point. Big thumbs up for the lovely lady who was tending at the time we arrived who, I must say, had the most excellent musical taste. There was not a single song she chose I didn´t like. Top marks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Place of Character and Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our first venture from the hotel, we happened upon this wonderful little café, situated conveniently away from the bustle of Rembrandt Square, but not too far away when you need to head on into the maelstrom.

A warm welcome with smiles, enthusiastic service - from the lady in particular - recommendations for beer and food in house, great food, and selection of home-made cakes by the chef.

The place has an old-world character; an upright piano sits in the corner amidst an abundance of board games and photographs of local scenes. The decór is traditional; wooden tables and chairs with candles, small flowers and deep red, heavy curtains that keep out the winter breeze.

The bar is well-stocked with spirits and all the beer you need is right there either in the fridge or on tap. The coffee is as mainland European as you would expect; quality, fresh and served to your table with a smile. There is a fully English translation of the menu, should you be stuck for words, and the general nature of this city is that almost everyone speaks English so don't be afraid to ask. In the evenings the bar is said to become a small live music venue, though we were elsewhere and didn't experience this for ourselves.

We loved this little café so much we returned on our last day in Amsterdam, to mark the end of a successful trip. A game of chess, a final locally brewed beer and a goat's cheese and ham panini was a fine cap to an excellent weekend. I recommend it to anyone who needs to find peace and sanctuary in a vibrant and intoxicating city, and I shall certainly return in the future in hope of a familiar sense of character.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very nice little café. We went there twice and tried some of their sandwiches and the delicious cake of the week.

Good service, nice atmosphere and a playful cat wondering around made for nice stop while visiting this beautiful city.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Langereis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Langereis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Langereis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.