We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandcafe Hermes

Grandcafe Hermes
Orlyplein 150, 1043 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 4884422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 2,330 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European, French, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Out on a business trip and stopped here for a quick bite in the early evening. What a great place. Great choice of beers and excellent food. Ended ip spending most of the evening there. Certainly be calling again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    53
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Cosy, good atmosphere, nice staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The bar/restaurant is nice and cosy, modern and with a mellow feeling, perfect for a drink or two or a meal. The atmophere is friendly and relaxed and the staff - many of whom seem to be relatives and/or friends - is really attentive, positive and trustworhy! You can easily forget a very important item there one week-end night, but unless another guest was too keen on it, you can trust it will be there for you to pick up the day after... :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

One of the best meals I took in my life. The restaurant is a big surprise. We went there following the recomendation of our hotel. We ordered a simple meal: a Hamburger. It came with a side salad, two slices of bread and two pieces of meat. The flavour was very mild, although the meat was covered with fried onions and mushrooms. One dish for two people (unless you like to eat too much). The salad was very simple, but was very delicious as well. If you are hosted by Sloterdijk, this is the place you must go to eat. And the price? 30 euros for two, with drinks, coffee and desert.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hermes - my favourite restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This restaurant is truly 1st rate - the food is excellent, the service is wonderful - suc a warm welcome, we come to Amsterdam once a year and it feels like we have come home when we step into Hermes - very recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Admittedly, there is not much choice of eateries around Sloterdijk, but the food here is good. The menu is fairly extensive, and the quality good. Staff are friendly.
If the soup of the day happens to be bospaddestoelen (wild mushroom) order it - it is absolutely delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandcafe Hermes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Grandcafe Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandcafe Hermes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.