We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramen in Amsterdam?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Fou Fow

Le Fou Fow
Elandsgracht 2, 1012 BD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #678 of 2,245 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: Le fou Fow is now closed, we will be back from September 2014 on a new location; Elandsgracht 2
Restaurant details
Description: Le fou Fow is now closed, we will be back from September 2014 on a new location; Elandsgracht 2
Prescott, Az
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ramen in Amsterdam?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I found some great reviews of this tiny venue. Not too hard to find once you get to the Chinese grocery. Be advised it is on the 2nd floor (3rd floor for you Americans) and the stairs are steep and narrow. There are only 3 tables near the window and a larger table on the other side of the cooking area. Menu is limited to ramen in several different broths and a few appetizers like gyoza and edemame. Each bowl of noodles is made to order and since there is only 1 cook, it can take a while. The bowl was steaming hot and full of noodles, greens, egg, seaweed and some pork. It was de,icious although on the salty side. Be prepared to share the table as there was a steady stream of customers entering. Overall a great, filling meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    9
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best Ramen in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It's hard to find but the instruction from other people's review helping me out a lot! Without those reviews, i didn't know this small Japanese noodle bar located at 3rd floor of a chinese supermarket! Although the place is small, and not a lot of seat, a lot of people are still willing to share the table with others!
The soup is not oily and fresh. The ramen is freshly made! The chef cooked it in right timing, such that the ramen is not over-cooked!!I It's so delicious!! The egg is very yummy as the egg yolk still totally solid. Everything in the bowl are prefect match!!
The worst thing is they only open from 12:30 - 17:00, not open for dinner....otherwise i must go there again for my dinner as well! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Real Ramen in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Le Fou Few is a small, informal cafe on the second floor of one of the best Chinese supermarkets in Amsterdam. The menu comprises 3 kinds of Ramen (one of which is vegetarian) plus about 4 side dishes like Gyoza. The soup is delicious, with proper homemade broth, pickles, authentic ramen noodles and, as another reviewer pointed out, a lovely soft-boiled egg. The Gyoza are fresh, juicy and full of flavour. Each dish is prepared with care in the clean, open kitchen in the centre of the cafe. The service is friendly and if you sit at a table by the window you also have a great view of one of the most historic parts of Amsterdam. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An authentic ramen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I would have never found this place without my friend. It can be a little embarrassing if you have to sit with strangers in a big table next to dishes and plates sold in the supermarket. And the cook is a Chinese-dutch. But, much to my big surprise, I had a warm, authentic Japanese ramen. A simple menu: a ramen in a broth of pork, or chicken, or vegetables. I had a pork broth, donkotsu, which was delicious and gentle (yasashii) and the noodle was chewy and resilient. The broth was milder and clearer than that of strong and heavy donkotsu of Japan. Living in Paris now, I can say this is far better than ramen you can easily find in Opera and I could actually see the cook making a stock full of ingredients in his open kitchen. It is not a fancy meal, but a hearty, casual lunch which warmed me up in chilly Amsterdam during my weekend trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden ramen joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Located on the third level above a Asian grocery store, you're suddenly in a big modern open room where the kitchen in the center creates delightfully delicate dumplings (gyoza) and big bowls of classic ramen.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fou Fow also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Le Fou Fow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Fou Fow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.