We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly corner, one block from the hectic market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pilsvogel

Pilsvogel
Gerard Douplein 14 | 1072 VE, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6646483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,088 of 2,249 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: French, Tapas, International, Café
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“friendly corner, one block from the hectic market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A good "brown" café with a funny name. Ask the bartender for an explanation of "Pilsvogel" and you'll never forget this evening out.
We were there on a rainy November night, did not sit outside, already ate at another place and were happy to have made the walk over here none the less.
This is one of those places you have to know about or you'll miss it. So, now you know: don't miss this one!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    4
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Recommended by a local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This bar was recommended by a lady we spoke to in Amsterdam who lived in the area. It was very lively, the staff were friendly and the food was good, the portions are large. We both had the chicken satay which was great as was the beer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askola, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We found this restaurant and ate here. I can rekommend this restaurant! We ate the dish of the day and food was absolutely delicious.They were decoreted candels, and give us blankets when its coming dark. Only minus was the price of water!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere..ok food/beer selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The atmosphere at Pilsvogel is good! It's on a fun busy corner that's lively and scenic. There's picnic bench seating which isn't that comfortable but very casual, as is the atmosphere. They decorate with candles, colored lights, and have heated lamps outside which makes it nice when the weather is chilly. Mys husband and I had only two of the "tapas" selections and a couple of drinks. The drink menu is small with only 13-14 selections of beer that I recall. The "tapas" are not REAL Spanish tapas. So do not come here if that's what you are looking for. It's a nice place for a drink and a chat but not a great dining experience. The waitress brought us the wrong beer the first time but we only speak English so maybe that was a language difficulty. Staff was efficient, friendly, and attentive. I would return but not if I wanted real tapas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Tapas Restaurant With No Tapas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Based on a recommendation in DK Eyewitness Top 10 Amsterdam travel guide we stopped here hoping to have tapas for lunch after visiting the Rijksmuseum. However, either they don’t serve tapas at lunchtime, or at least not on a Sunday, so we opted to have a couple of sandwiches. What we had was freshly prepared, but nothing special, and the waitress seemed uninterested. Overall slightly disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilsvogel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Pilsvogel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilsvogel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.