We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas and wine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca's

Boca's
Westerstraat 30, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+3120 820 37 27
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Tapas and wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We went to Boca's today for lunch and enjoyed it immensely. The service was very friendly and prompt. The waiter was more than happy to grab us an english menu after he realised we were struggling translating the dutch menu.

We had two glasses of red and four sandwiches/rolls between us. The wine was excellent and each of the rolls were brilliant, my favourite being the goats cheese!

During the time we were there, there was a steady stream of people coming through the door, however there seemed to be plenty of tables to ensure everyone was seated quickly. The noise in the restaurant was manageable and more importantly didn't cause problems/stop conversation.

I recommend people try Boca's for something a little different - you feel like a bit of a local going here!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food and beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Popped in on friday night to see what the place was like, after having read a review of boca's. It interested us as it did early evening food which would fit into our schedule next day.

The place is small and was real busy with people having social drinks and other tables chomping away on food. One of the staff asked if we wanted a table and we said we just needed a drink and said we could probably get some space at the bar. we were fine with that and had just ordered some drinks when a guy next to me asked if i had enough room and if we needed some stools, we said we were good. The guy started chatting to us about this and that and made us feel very welcome. We commented that we were after food for tomorrow and he said him and his friend were the owners, which we took as a bit of a joke till he asked the bar tender for the reservations book and asked us what time we wanted a table. He booked us in for 3 hours between 5-8 for the saturday. The owner could not have been more friendly or Helpful.
We turned up next day and there was out table with our name on it all reserved. They seem to do this for all who reserve in advance but they are good a fitting walk ins around reservations.
The staff were great and very attentive. When we visited the english menu's had not yet been printed as they had just updated the menu's but the staff took there time to explain what the food choices were. As other reviews have said you can order platters for one or to share or just one off single dishes. We choose a mixed platter with the 3 fries side platter to accompany it. The mixed platter for 2 was only 16 euros which i thought was great value. The platter came containing cured meat, and cooked steak basted in a light sauce, local cheeses, fruit puree and bread and mackerel with wasabi. All of it including the fries and dips were fab and washed down with an array of local beers on tap or in bottles.
The place is laid back but don't be put off if it looks busy it's definitely worth going in and investigating. One of the best finds in Amsterdam to date and another place we cant wait to go back to when in town again

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had dinner with my family here on Saturday night. Firstly, the restaurant was packed, but as I'd heard only positive things about this place, I asked for a table and the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. The service, warm and personal, the food, delicious, fresh and different and the ambiance made for the best restaurant experience I have had over my three years of living in Amsterdam. Thank you Boca's and see you soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The restaurant is really tiny, however it doesnt make it any worse. Food was amazing. We goat medium plate of meat and cheese for both of us and shrimp soup.Food is served quick and the athmosphere around is very cozy. There were mostly only locals and it was hard to find a place, but totally worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“GREAT tapas place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stumbled up on this place in the awkward late afternoon where it can be hard to find places serving food in the break between lunch and dinner. Reviews were mixed but we took and chance and I am SO GLAD we did.

This place is really awesome. Great service and DELICIOUS food. We got the veggie platter and the small was more than enough for 2. We also got the frites plate with different dipping sauces and we not disappointed. Really nice food and a good spot for a late lunch as they serve straight through.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Boca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.